2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup Predictions & Tips

10 Showlhs N
The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup is the 19th edition of an international basketball tournament featuring men's national basketball teams. The tournament is organised by the International Basketball Federation (FIBA), the sport's global governing body.

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be hosted in three countries - the Philippines, Japan and Indonesia, between Friday, August 25 and Sunday, September 10. The tournament ranks alongside the Olympic Basketball tournament in prestige.

Spain enter the tournament as the defending world champions, having beaten Argentina 95-75 in the 2019 final. France finished third in the competition four years ago, having beaten Australia 67-59 in the third place playoff.

FIBA Basketball World Cup Free Bets

  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration required. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Free Bet
    Join betgoodwin with promo code NEWBONUS and get access to their £25 loss back offer. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.
  • £10
    Free bet
    Use code
    Get £10 free bet. Use the promo code NEWBONUS.
  • Bet
    New UK customers (Excluding NI) only. Mobile exclusive. Min Deposit £10. Min stake £10. Min odds Evs. Free bet applied on 1st settlement of any qualifying bet. 30 days to qualify. Free bets expire in 7 days. Cashed out/Free Bets won’t apply. Account & Payment method restrictions apply. 1 Free Bet offer per customer, household & IP Address only. 18+. T&Cs apply. **18+. Online Only. Get paid out as a winner if your team is winning by 2 goals, even if you draw or lose. 90 mins only. Applies to Singles & Multiples. T&Cs apply.
  • Deposit
    18+ only. Ts and Cs apply

2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup Betting Odds

All major bookmakers will offer odds for FIBA Basketball World Cup matches including winner, handicap, total points and player props such as points over/under, rebounds over/under and assists over/under. 

There are also a number of outright betting markets and odds for the FIBA Basketball World Cup including FIBA World Cup Winner and Top 3 Finish.

FIBA Basketball World Cup Live Streaming

The bet365 live streaming service is one of the best in the business and covers a wide range of basketball tournaments around the world throughout the year.

  1. Visit bet365 > basketball > live streaming
  2. Log-in or register for an account
  3. Registered depositing users can watch & bet on basketball*

*Geo-restrictions apply, you’ll need a funded account or to have placed a bet in the prior 24 hours to access. 18+ terms and conditions apply.

Who Qualified For 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup?

There were 32 teams that qualified for the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup including five from Africa, eight from Asia and Oceania, 12 from Europe and seven from the Americas.

AfricaAsia and OceaniaEuropeAmericas
 Angola  Australia  Finland  Brazil
 Cape Verde  China  France  Canada
 Egypt  Iran  Georgia  Dominican Republic
 Ivory Coast  Japan (co-host)  Germany  Mexico
 South Sudan  Jordan  Greece  Puerto Rico

 Lebanon  Italy  United States

 New Zealand  Latvia  Venezuela

 Philippines (co-host)  Lithuania





FIBA Basketball World Cup History

The Basketball World Cup began in 1950 and was scheduled to be held every four years between the Olympic Games. Argentina hosted the inaugural tournament and won all their games to become the first FIBA World Champions.

The first five World Cups were held in South America with teams from the Americas dominating the tournament. Teams from Europe including the former states of Soviet Union and Yugoslavia caught up alongside the United States and Brazil, these four nations winning every medal between 1963 and 1990.

The 1994 FIBA World Cup marked a considerable change with active American NBA players allowed to participate for the first time. All FIBA World Cups from 1994 on are considered fully professional. There was also a shift in Europe with the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia splitting into new states including Russia and Croatia.

FIBA expanded the tournament to 24 teams for 2006, 2010 and 2014 editions of the tournament. The 2018 FIBA Basketball World Cup was moved to 2019 to avoid overlapping with the FIFA World Cup, the first tournament since 1967 that will not occur in the same year as the FIFA World Cup.

The champions of each tournament are awarded the Naismith Trophy, named after basketball inventor James Naismith. The winners are also awarded a Gold medal, second place a silver medal and the winners of the third placed game awarded the bronze medal.

The 2019 FIBA World Cup, will be held in China, was expanded from 24 to 32 teams and acted as qualification for the 2020 Summer Olympics, which took the top two teams from each of the Americas and Europe, and the top team from each of Africa, Asia and Oceania, alongside the tournament's host China.

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be co-hosted by the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia.

Previous FIBA Basketball World Cup Winners

Third Place
Fourth Place
1950 Argentina United States Chile Brazil
1954 United States Brazil Philippines France
1959 Brazil United States Chile Formosa
1963 Brazil Yugoslavia Soviet Union United States
1967 Soviet Union Yugoslavia Brazil United States
1970 Yugoslavia Brazil Soviet Union Italy
1974 Soviet Union Yugoslavia United States Cuba
1978 Yugoslavia Soviet Union Brazil Italy
1982 Soviet Union United States Yugoslavia Spain
1986 United States Soviet Union Yugoslavia Brazil
1990 Yugoslavia Soviet Union United States Puerto Rico
1994 United States Russia Croatia Greece
1998 FR Yugoslavia Russia United States Greece
2002 FR Yugoslavia Argentina Germany New Zealand
2006 Spain Greece United States Argentina
2010 United States Turkey Lithuania Serbia
2014 United States Serbia France Lithuania
2019 Spain Argentina France Australia

FIBA Basketball World Cup FAQs

When is the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup?

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup begins on August 25, 2023 and concludes on September 10, 2023.

Where is the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup?

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be held in the Philippines, Japan and Indonesia.

How often is the FIBA Basketball World Cup?

The FIBA Basketball World Cup is held every four years.

When was the last FIBA Basketball World Cup?

The last FIBA Basketball World Cup was held in 2019 in China. Spain beat Argentina 95-75 in the final to claim their second title.