NBA Sixth Man Of The Year Betting Tips

10 Showlhs N
The NBA Sixth Man Of The Year award is an annual award given to the player who has made the biggest impact for his team coming off the bench on a regular basis.

Many leading bookmakers offer customers the chance to back those key team players to win the sixth man award, with the market consistently updated throughout the entire NBA regular season.

Bonus Bets

  • £10
    Free bet
    Use code
    Get £10 free bet. Use the promo code NEWBONUS.
  • Bet
    New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.
  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    New UK customers (Excluding NI) only. Mobile exclusive. Min stake £10. Min odds Evs. Free bet applied on 1st settlement of any qualifying bet. 30 days to qualify. Free bets expire in 7 days. Cashed out/Free Bets won’t apply. Payment method restrictions. 1 Free Bet offer per customer, household & IP Address only. 18+. T&Cs apply
  • Bet
    New 18+ UK customers. Register with CHELT40 between 09:00 on 10/03/2023 and 17:30 on 17/03/2023. Deposit, using a Debit Card, and place first bet on sports within 7 days of registering. Bet must be £10+ at Evens (2.0)+ in one bet transaction. £40 in Free Bets credited within 10 hours of bet settlement, expires 7-days after issue. First bet must be settled within 7 days of registration. Proof of I.D and address may be required. Full T&Cs apply

NBA Sixth Man Of The Year Betting Tips

The days of the Sixth Man Of The Year award winner being somebody not good enough to start are long gone – bench play is hugely important in the NBA and that is why some big name players have won this award previously, including James Harden.

So what trends do you need to know before placing a bet on the Sixth Man Of The Year market?
Position has been a huge factor since 2000, with a shooting guard winning this award no less than 17 times. And if you narrow that down to the last 11 seasons, Montrezl Harrell of the LA Clippers is the only non-shooting guard to have won this award.

So if shooting guards have led the way, then scoring has to matter. Over the last 20 years, the winner of this award has led the NBA in bench scoring that season, with four others placing second in this statistic. So any shooting guard that steps off the bench and scores frequently has to be considered a front-runner for Sixth Man Of The Year honours.

Experience is another thing to look out for. While the previously mentioned Harden won this award at the age of 22, 14 of the last 15 winners have been aged between 26 and 35, with the last 15 winners combining for an average age of 30.

And finally, being on a winning team can be important too. Since 1994 the winner of the award has played on a team that won at least 47 games during the regular season, with the average win tally being 53.8 games. The only exception to that rule was when Lou Williams took the honours after the LA Clippers won 42 games, but that was in a strike-shortened season in 2018.

Previous NBA Sixth Man Of The Year Winners

Some men have revelled in the role of making an impact off the bench – namely Jamal Crawford and Lou Williams.

Crawford won this award a record-setting three times between 2010 and 2016, claiming it once as an Atlanta Hawk before collecting it two more times as a Los Angeles Clipper.

Williams matched that feat between 2015 and 2019, proving himself to be an effective player off the bench in 2015 for the Toronto Raptors, before heading to the Clippers to win it two more times, just like Crawford did.

Tyler Herro of the Miami Heat took the award last year, while Jordan Clarkson’s success in 2021 made him the first non-American to win the award since Manu Ginobli in 2008.

Winner (No. of times)
1982–83 Bobby Jones Power forward  Philadelphia 76ers
1983–84 Kevin McHale Power forward  Boston Celtics
1984–85 Kevin McHale (2) Power forward  Boston Celtics
1985–86 Bill Walton Center  Boston Celtics
1986–87 Ricky Pierce Shooting guard  Milwaukee Bucks
1987–88 Roy Tarpley Power forward  Dallas Mavericks
1988–89 Eddie Johnson Small forward  Phoenix Suns
1989–90 Ricky Pierce (2) Shooting guard  Milwaukee Bucks
1990–91 Detlef Schrempf Power forward  Indiana Pacers
1991–92 Detlef Schrempf (2) Power forward  Indiana Pacers
1992–93 Clifford Robinson Power forward  Portland Trail Blazers
1993–94 Dell Curry Shooting guard  Charlotte Hornets
1994–95 Anthony Mason Power forward  New York Knicks
1995–96 Toni Kukoč Small forward  Chicago Bulls
1996–97 John Starks Shooting guard  New York Knicks
1997–98 Danny Manning Power forward  Phoenix Suns
1998–99 Darrell Armstrong Point guard  Orlando Magic
1999–00 Rodney Rogers Power forward  Phoenix Suns
2000–01 Aaron McKie Shooting guard  Philadelphia 76ers
2001–02 Corliss Williamson Small forward  Detroit Pistons
2002–03 Bobby Jackson Point guard  Sacramento Kings
2003–04 Antawn Jamison Small forward  Dallas Mavericks
2004–05 Ben Gordon Shooting guard  Chicago Bulls
2005–06 Mike Miller Shooting guard  Memphis Grizzlies
2006–07 Leandro Barbosa Shooting guard  Phoenix Suns
2007–08 Manu Ginóbili Shooting guard  San Antonio Spurs
2008–09 Jason Terry Shooting guard  Dallas Mavericks
2009–10 Jamal Crawford Shooting guard  Atlanta Hawks
2010–11 Lamar Odom Power forward  Los Angeles Lakers
2011–12 James Harden Shooting guard  Oklahoma City Thunder
2012–13 J. R. Smith Shooting guard  New York Knicks
2013–14 Jamal Crawford (2) Shooting guard  Los Angeles Clippers
2014–15 Lou Williams Shooting guard  Toronto Raptors
2015–16 Jamal Crawford (3) Shooting guard  Los Angeles Clippers
2016–17 Eric Gordon Shooting guard  Houston Rockets
2017–18 Lou Williams (2) Shooting guard  Los Angeles Clippers
2018–19 Lou Williams (3) Shooting guard  Los Angeles Clippers
2019–20 Montrezl Harrell Center  Los Angeles Clippers
2020–21 Jordan Clarkson Shooting guard  Utah Jazz
2021–22 Tyler Herro Shooting guard  Miami Heat

NBA Live Streaming

Not only can you bet on who will be crowned the best sixth man in the NBA, you can also watch the premier league of basketball live online thanks to bet365's live streaming service.

bet365's live streaming service is only available to eligible customers. To watch, all you need is a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Please note that some geo restrictions do apply.

Diary Events

NBA Sixth Man of the Year FAQs

What is the NBA Sixth Man of the Year award?

The NBA Sixth Man of the Year award is given to the player who has made the biggest impact for his team in a reserve role.

Who won the NBA Sixth Man of the Year award last season?

Tyler Herro of the Miami Heat won the 2021/22 NBA Sixth Man of the Year award.

Who has won the most NBA Sixth Man of the Year awards?

Jamal Crawford (Atlanta Hawks, LA Clippers) and Lou Williams (Toronto Raptors, LA Clippers) have both won the NBA Sixth Man of the Year award three times.