2024 Arkle Novices' Chase Tips

6100 Showlhs N
The second Grade One on the day one card at the Cheltenham Festival is the thrilling Arkle Challenge Trophy.

Named in honour of one of the greatest horses ever to grace the sport, the Arkle has produced many outstanding winners during its history.

Greats like Flyingbolt, Moscow Flyer, Sprinter Sacre and Altior all won the Arkle during their first season over fences, and went on to win even bigger prizes at future Cheltenham Festivals.

2023 Arkle Novices' Chase Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

As there's usually a hot-favourite to win the Arkle, many bookmakers have special price boosts in the build-up to the race. Check out the best free bet offers you could use here:

Day 1 Cheltenham Festival Free Bets 2024

BookmakerFree BetPromo CodeClaim Free Bet
Super Boost: State Man at EvensCode: NEWBONUSState Man Boost
€20 No Deposit & €70 Bundle (IRELAND ONLY)Code: BET10GE70€20 No Deposit
£/€10 Back for CheltenhamCode: NEWBONUS£10 ReFUND
Bet £10, Get £30 plus 25% extra winnings on the SupremeCode: NEWBONUSJOIN BET365
£100 RefundCheltenham Special£100 REFUND
$600 to Play PokerCode: NEWBONUS$600 Poker

Arkle Novices' Chase Tips

Our Arkle Chase betting tips are available here.

Arkle Chase Date & Time 2024

The Arkle Chase is run on Day 1 of the Cheltenham Festival. In 2024 that falls on Tuesday March 12th, and the official starting time is 2:10pm. 

The Day 1 card also includes the Supreme Novices HurdleChampion Hurdle and David Nicholson Mares’ Hurdle. 

Arkle Chase Bookmaker Promotions

The bookmakers will go all in to kickstart the Cheltenham Festival. Have a look at all the enhanced odds and Arkle Chase specials available with the top online bookies right now.

Arkle Novices' Chase Key Facts

DateTuesday March 12th, 2024
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£175,000

Arkle Novices' Chase Winners

The Arkle Chase has produced many champion winners, which have gone on to win other Grade 1 races throughout the Cheltenham Festival in years to come. 

Names such as Altior and Duvan, which both won the Supreme Novices’ Hurdle the year before winning the Arkle Chase, grace the past winners list. 

Arkle Chase Winners
2023El Fabiolo
2021 Shishkin
2020Put The Kettle On
2019Duc Des Genievres
2015Un de Sceaux
2014Western Warehouse
2012Sprinter Sacre
2011Captain Chris
2010Sizing Europe
2008Tidal Bay
2007My Way de Solzen
2006Voy Por Ustedes
2004Well Chief
2002Moscow Flyer
2001no race
1999Flagship Uberalles

Arkle Novices' Chase History

The Arkle Chase took over from the Cotswold Chase in 1969 when taken out by Chatham for trainer Fred Rimell and it pays tribute to Arkle, a three-time winner of the Cheltenham Gold Cup throughout the 1960’s. 

Currently sponsored by the Racing Post, the Arkle Chase is a great lead-in race to many of the Cheltenham Festival feature races, including the Queen Mother Champion Chase. Several Arkle Chase winners have gone on to win the feature chase event, including Moscow Flyer, Voy Pour Ustedes and Azertyuiop. 

The favourites have had a good record in this race and none more so than Un de Sceaux, which won at an odds-on quote in 2015. That win gave Willie Mullins his first of three wins in a four-year span, which included 2018 winner Footpad. 

Mullins doesn’t hold the record for most wins, however, with that going to Nicky Henderson with six wins. His latest came in 2017 with champion chaser Altior. 

Much like many other Cheltenham Festival races, jockey Ruby Walsh has the record with four wins. That’s the same as Barry Geraghty who scored back-to-back wins in 2012 and 2013 with Sprinter Sacre and Simonsig respectively. 

The race is open to five-year-old entrants but there hasn’t been a five-year-old winner since Voy Pour Ustedes in 2006.

Fakir D'Oudairies attempted to break the hoodoo surrounding five-year-olds in 2020, but Joseph O'Brien's charge couldn't pass 16/1 shot Put The Kettle On, who stayed on valiantly to claim a surprise victory.

Arkle Challenge Trophy FAQs

When is the 2024 Arkle Chase?

The Arkle Chase takes place on Day One of the Cheltenham Festival, on Tuesday March 12th 2024.

What time is the Arkle Chase at Cheltenham?

The Arkle Challenge Trophy is due off at 2.10pm on Tuesday March 12th. It is the second race on the opening day of Day One at the Cheltenham Festival.