2022 Champion Hurdle Tips

6100 Showlhs N
The feature Championship race on day one of the Cheltenham Festival is the Champion Hurdle.

This two-mile hurdles race has been won by many of the greatest hurdles to grace our sport, with the likes of Night Nurse, Hurricane Fly and Buveur D'Air winning the race on two occasions.

Hatton's Grace was the first to claim a hat-trick of Champion Hurdle wins. A feat which has been repeated by legends like Persian War, See You Then and Istabraq.

Cheltenham Day 1 Results 2022 (Tuesday)

TimeTuesday Races2022 Results for Day 1Place Bet
13:30Supreme Novices' Hurdle1st Constitution Hill 9/4
2nd Jonbon 5/1
3rd Kilcruit 6/1
14:10Arkle Challenge Trophy1st Edwardstone 5/2
2nd Gabynako 25/1
3rd Blue Lord 4/1
4th War Lord 50/1
14:50Ultima Handicap Chase1st Corach Rambler 10/1
2nd Gericault Roque 9/1
3rd Oscar Elite 22/1
4th Tea Clipper 12/1
15:30Champion Hurdle
1st Honeysuckle 8/11
2nd Epatante 16/1
3rd Zanahiyr 28/1
16:10Mares' Hurdle1st Marie's Rock 18/1
2nd Queens Brook 4/1
3rd Mrs Milner 14/1
16:50Boodles Handicap Hurdle1st Brazil 10/1
2nd Gaelic Warrior 6/4
3rd Bell Ex One 25/1
17:30National Hunt Chase1st Stattle 2/1
2nd Run Wild Fred 7/4
Day 1 TipsCheltenham Festival 2022
Day 1 Tips - All Races

Champion Hurdle Bookmakers & Free Bets

Every year bookmakers offer their best free bet welcome bonuses and enhanced odds specials for the Champion Hurdle. Often they load up your account with enough bonus bets so you can have a bet on every race of the day's race card. 

Day 1 Cheltenham Festival Free Bets 2022

BookmakerFree BetPromo CodeClaim Free Bet
Want a FREE £/€5?
1x Every DayGet £/€5 FREE
Completely Free £5 BetAny race on Day 1FREE FIVER
NEW: Bet £30 Get £30High Class Bookie£30 Bonus
Bet £10 Get £606x £10 for Wednesday£60 BONUS
£/€30 for CheltenhamCode: NEWBONUS£30 Bonus
Bet £10, Get £60Bet Through The Card£60 BONUS
Bet £5 Get £2020FREE£20 Bonus
$600 to Play PokerCode: NEWBONUS$600 Poker

2022 Champion Hurdle Tips

Who will win the Champion Hurdle? Our expert preview and Champion Hurdle betting tips provides all of the answers.

Champion Hurdle Date & Time 2022

The Champion Hurdle is the feature race run on Day 1 of the Cheltenham Festival. In 2022 that falls on Tuesday March 15th and the official starting time is 3.30pm. 

Champion Hurdle Bookie Specials

The bookmakers will go all in to kickstart the 2022 Cheltenham Festival. Have a look at all the enhanced odds and Champion Hurdle specials available with the top online bookies right now.

Spin the Wheel & Find a Bet

Champion Hurdle 2022

Can't pick a Champion Hurdle 2022 winner? Spin the wheel to help you make a selection.

* brought to you by Paddy Power

Can't pick a Champion Hurdle 2022 winner? Spin the wheel to help you make a selection.

Shuffle Sort Clear
  • Honeysuckle 4/7
  • Appreciate It 4/1
  • Teahupoo 10/1
  • Epatante 12/1
  • Zanahiyr 18/1
  • Adagio 20/1
  • Tommys Oscar 25/1
  • Saint Roi 33/1
  • Not So Sleepy 66/1
  • Glory And Fortune 80/1
Advanced options Share

Wheel colour:

Text colour:

Take me up to my wheel
Selected Place your bet with Paddy Power
* brought to you by Paddy Power

Champion Hurdle Key Facts

DateTuesday March 15th, 2022
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£400,000

Champion Hurdle Winners

Many of the recent Champion Hurdle winners have been expected to win, including the likes of Buveur d’Air, Annie Power, Faugheen and Hurricane Fly. 

Prior to those wins, there were plenty of upset winners with four consecutive winners from 2007-2010 paying 10.00 or more.

Champion Hurdle Winners
2019Espoir D'Allen
2018Buveur d’Air
2017Buveur d’Air
2016Annie Power
2013Hurricane Fly
2012Rock On Ruby
2011Hurricane Fly
2006Brave Inca
2005Hardy Eustace
2004Hardy Eustace
2003Rooster Booster
2002Hors La Loi III
2001no race

Champion Hurdle History

One of the oldest Cheltenham Festival races, the Champion Hurdle is stepped in history since its first running in 1927 when Blaris took the honours for trainer Bill Payne and jockey George Duller. 

Since that time there have been many champion winners and an incredible five horses to win three Champion Hurdle races. All five horses won the Champion Hurdle in consecutive years, making the feat even more incredible and the most recent champion was Istabraq in 2000. 

Istabraq was the odds-on favourite to win his fourth unprecedented Champion Hurdle but the foot-and-mouth outbreak of 2001 caused history to halter. Unfortunately, he raced in 2002 but was pulled up after the second hurdle when jockey Charlie Swan felt his action go. 

Istabraq’s subsequent retirement left the door open for another champion and although there hasn’t been another like him since, Hardy Eustace, Hurricane Fly and Buveur d’Air have all won the Champion Hurdle twice. 

Nicky Henderson has scored seven wins as a trainer and those wins came with four horses. He trained See You Then to score three consecutive Champion Hurdle’s from 1985-1987 and current champion Buveur d’Air. 

Jockeys Tim Molony and Ruby Walsh share the top honours with four wins a piece. Ruby Walsh’s most recent win came with Annie Power, which was subsequently only the fourth mare to win the Champion Hurdle. That win also gave Willie Mullins his fourth win in a six-year span. 

The biggest margin of victory in recent times belongs to Rooster Booster when scoring by 11 lengths in 2003. The nine-year-old spaced his rivals, which included Westender in second and race favourite Rhinestone Cowboy in third.

Owner JP McManus won the Champion Hurdle twice in a row with Buveur D'Air, and again with the ill-fated Espoir D'Allen.

In 2020, Nicky Henderson's Epatante justified her tag of favouritism with a superb performance, ensuring McManus retain the famous trophy for a fourth year on the bounce.

Champion Hurdle FAQs

When is the Cheltenham Festival Champion Hurdle 2022?

The 2022 Cheltenham Champion Hurdle will take place on Tuesday March 15th as part of Day One at the Cheltenham Festival. The feature race is the championship contest for 2m hurdlers and has been won by some of the greatest hurdlers of all time.

What time is the 2022 Cheltenham Champion Hurdle?

The Champion Hurdle is due off at 15:30 GMT on Tuesday March 15th 2022. It is the fourth race on the opening day of Day One at the Cheltenham Festival.