2024 Stayers Hurdle Tips

6100 Showlhs N
Open to horses ages four years or older, the Stayers Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival isn’t one of the more popular betting races during the festival but it always garners attention from racegoers. 

Formerly known as the World Hurdle when sponsored when Ladbrokes sponsored the 12-hurdle feature, it reverted back to the Stayers Hurdle in 2017. 

The Cheltenham Festival feature has a rich history of producing quality winners and this year should be no different.

2024 Stayers Hurdle Best Offer and Free Bets

The Stayers Hurdle always attracts special interest from bookmakers with offers and free bets. Take a look at which of the bookmakers best special offers you can use on the Stayers' Hurdle here:

The Stayers' Hurdle Free Bets 2023

BookmakerFree BetPromo Code / OfferClaim Free Bet
NEW: Bet £10 Get £20
Code: NEWBONUS£20 Bonus
Bet £10 Get £50Code: NEWBONUS£50 bonus
NEW: Bet £30 Get £30Code: NEWBONUS£30 Bonus

2024 Stayers Hurdle Tips

The best three-mile hurdlers line-up in the Stayers Hurdle and the form usually throws up a popular winner. Our Stayers Hurdle betting tips are available ahead of the Thursday feature.

Stayers Hurdle Bookie Specials

The bookmakers will go all in with 2023 Cheltenham Festival offers. Have a look at all the enhanced odds and Stayers Hurdle specials available with the top online bookies right now.

Ruby's Festival Fancies - Cheltenham 2022 (Day 3 Tips)

TimeThursday RacesRuby's Day 3 TipsPlace Bet
13:30Marsh Novices' ChaseIt's a match between Galopin Des Champs and Bob Olinger. Galopin Des Champs is faster and a brilliant jumper.
14:10Pertemps Network FinalAlaphilippe had a really good run at Warwick last time out in January.
14:50Ryanair ChaseIf Allaho runs anything like he did last year, that should be more than enoughto win again.
15:30Paddy Power Stayers' HurdleThe better the ground gets after Wednesday's downpour, the better the chance of Champ.
16:10Plate Handicap ChaseThe Glancing Queen has impressed over fences this season. She can win this.
16:50Mares Novices HurdleParty Central is a closer and has a real chance, but I'm going to side with Grangee in an EW punt.
17:30Kim Muir Challenge Cup"I'm a fan of School Boy Hours. He ran a blinder in the Paddy Power Chase at Leopardstown in December.
Day 3Read our Freetips Day 3 Tips hereAll Day 3 Tips

Stayers Hurdle Key Facts

DateThursday March 14, 2024
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£275,000

Stayers Hurdle Winners

The Stayers Hurdle has been around since 1912 and the list of champion winners is extensive. In more recent times, Big Buck’s has dominated the race when winning four consecutive races between 2009-2012. 

Thistlecrack was a popular winner for bettors when scoring at evens in 2016.

The Stayers Hurdle Winners
2023Sire Du Berlais
2022Flooring Porter
2021Flooring Porter
2020Lisnagar Oscar
2019Paisley Park
2017Nichols Canyon
2015Cole Harden
2014More Of That
2012Big Buck's
2011Big Buck's
2010Big Buck's
2009Big Buck's
2008Inglis Drever
2007Inglis Drever
2006My Way de Solzen
2005Inglis Drever
2004Iris's Gift
2001no race
1995Dorans Pride
1993Shuil Ar Aghaidh
1992Nomadic Way
1991King's Curate
1990Trapper John

Stayers Hurdle History

With a long and rich history, the Stayers Hurdle is one of the time-honoured races during the Cheltenham Festival in March. 

First run in 1912 when taken out by Aftermath against only three rivals, the Stayers Hurdle has increased in popularity since and is now attracted numbers of around 12-20 every year. 

Big Buck’s became the most successful runner in the history of the Stayers Hurdle when winning it four straight times. It was considered the best hurdler in the world at that time and when he was retired in 2014, that opened up the competition. 

Inglis Drever was a three-time winner of the Stayers Hurdle in 2005, 2007 and 2008.  

The Stayers Hurdle has adopted many different names throughout the course of history. It has been called the World Hurdle, Stayers Selling Hurdle, Spa Hurdle and has now settled as the Stayers Hurdle. 

As he has with many of the Cheltenham Festival races, jockey Ruby Walsh dominated the Stayers Hurdle with five wins. His first came in with Big Buck’s in 2009 and he also rode 2017 champion Nichols Canyon to victory for owners Andrea and Graham Wylie, who also owned Inglis Drever. 

The history of betting on the Stayers Hurdle is complete with short-priced favourites and long shots. Big Buck’s scored at 7.00 in 2009 but was backed into an odds-on quote for each of his three remaining wins. 

Since 1988, Big Buck’s 1.85 winning price is the lowest odds paid out, with Anzum’s 41.00 odds in 1999 being the highest odds. 

After winning the Stayers' Hurdle in 2019, and remaining unbeaten for the best part of two seasons, Paisley Park was the hot-favourite to defend his crown in 2020.

In a real shock, the favourite was comfortably beaten, as 66/1 outsider Lisnagar Oscar powered up Cleeve Hill to win the Stayers' Hurdle.

Stayers' Hurdle Cheltenham FAQs

When is the Stayers' Hurdle?

The Stayers' Hurdle Cheltenham 2024 is the fourth race on Day Three of the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday, March 14th.

What time is the Stayers' Hurdle Cheltenham 2024?

The Stayers' Hurdle is due off at 3.30pm on Thursday, March 14th, 2024. It is the championship contest for long-distance hurdlers and has been won by some of the best in jumps racing history, including Thistlecrack, Big Buck’s, Inglis Drever and Baracouda.

Who will win the 2024 Cheltenham Stayers' Hurdle?

Our Cheltenham Festival betting tips have been carefully selected by Cheltenham pundits and our team of horse racing experts. They're free, so check them out if you're not sure who to bet on in the Stayers' Hurdle 2024.