• Home
  • Cheltenham
  • Day 3 Tips
  • Ryanair Chase 14:30

When is the 2022 Ryanair Chase?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Ryanair Chase
  • The Ryanair takes place at Cheltenham on Thursday 17th March in 2022
Jockey Rachael Blackmore rides horse Allaho (L) to win The Ryanair Chase. (Getty)
Freetips staff 01 Apr 2021
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Ryanair Chase?

The 2022 Ryanair Chase will take place on day three of the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday 17th March. The Ryanair Chase will be run at 2:30pm.

Who won the last Ryanair Chase?

Allaho produced a performance of the season contender in the 2021 Ryanair Chase, powering to a stunning victory from the front, beating Fakir D'Oudairies by 14 lengths.

What is the Ryanair Chase?

The Ryanair Chase is the third race on day three of the Cheltenham Festival. The Ryanair Chase is a Grade One and is run over a distance of two miles and four furlongs.

Where is the Ryanair Chase run?

The Ryanair Chase is always run at Cheltenham racecourse during their popular Cheltenham Festival, held during the middle week of March every year.

Which horses will run in the Ryanair Chase?

Following his stunning victory in 2021, Allaho could return to defend his Ryanair Crown. Fakir D'Oudairies and Min could also run, along with Energumene, Mister Fisher, Envoi Allen, Allmankind and Chantry House.

Where can I watch the 2022 Ryanair Chase?

The 2022 Ryanair Chase will be shown live on ITV and RacingTV. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Ryanair Chase Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Ryanair Chase live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Ryanair Chase Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Ryanair Chase History

The Ryanair Chase was added to the Cheltenham Festival fairly recently, with the first edition taking place in 2005. This two-and-a-half-mile chase initially held Grade Two status, before being promoted to a Grade One in 2008.

Thanks to a steady increase in prize money from the sponsors, the Ryanair Chase has steadily grown in stature during it's history. So much so, that many now regard the Ryanair as the unofficial fifth Championship race at the Cheltenham Festival.

Imperial Commander won the Ryanair Chase for Nigel Twiston-Davies in 2009, and went on to win the Gold Cup the following season.

2010 and 2011 saw Albertas Run come out on top, and Jonjo O'Neill's popular chaser remains the only two-time winner of the Ryanair.

Gold Cup winner Paul Nicholls' is the winning-most trainer in Ryanair history, with the last of his three winners coming in 2019 when Frodon scored under Bryony Frost.

Ruby Walsh is the most successful jockey, having ridden Nicholls' first two Ryanair winners, before guiding Vautaur and Un De Sceaux to victory in 2016 and 2017.

Colin Tizzard's Cue Card won the Ryanair in 2013. David Pipe and Alan King celebrated victories the following two seasons, with Dynaste and Uxizandre winning in 2014 and '15.

Henry De Bromhead claimed a famous win in 2018 with Balko Des Flos coming out on top. 2020 saw Willie Millins join Paul Nicholls as the top trainer in Ryanair Chase history, as Min came out on top.

Mullins was celebrating again in 2021, as Allaho produced one of the performances of the week to win the Ryanair by 12 lengths.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

19 January 2022

Load More