• Home
  • Cheltenham
  • Day 3 Tips
  • Stayers Hurdle 15:05

When is the 2022 Stayers' Hurdle?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Stayers' Hurdle
  • The Stayers' Hurdle takes place at Cheltenham on Thursday 17th March in 2022
flooring porter
Jockey Danny Mullins celebrates after riding Flooring Porter to victory in the Stayers Hurdle. (Getty)
Freetips staff 01 Apr 2021
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Stayers' Hurdle?

The 2022 Stayers' Hurdle will take place on day three of the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday 17th March. The Stayers' Hurdle will be run at 3:05pm.

Who won the last Stayers' Hurdle?

Flooring Porter followed up his Grade One win at Leopardstown by beating Sire Du Berlais and Paisley Park in the 2021 Stayers' Hurdle.

What is the Stayers' Hurdle?

The Stayers' Hurdle is the feature Championship race on day three of the Cheltenham Festival. The Stayers' Hurdle is a Grade One hurdles race, and is run over a distance of three miles.

Where is the Stayers' Hurdle run?

The Stayers' Hurdle is always run at Cheltenham racecourse during their popular Cheltenham Festival, held during the middle week of March every year.

Which horses will run in the Stayers' Hurdle?

Flooring Porter will return to Cheltenham in 2022 to defend his Stayers' Hurdle crown. Sire Du Berlais, Paisley Park and Fury Road could return to challenge the champion, while Thyme Hill, Roksana and Vanillier could also run.

Where can I watch the 2022 Stayers' Hurdle?

The 2022 Stayers' Hurdle will be shown live on ITV and RacingTV. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Stayers' Hurdle Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Stayers' Hurdle live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Stayers' Hurdle Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Stayers' Hurdle History

The Stayers' Hurdle is the oldest of the four Championship races at the Cheltenham Festival. The Stayers' Hurdle was first staged at Cheltenham in 1912. 

Having been dropped from the rota on a couple of occasions, the Stayers' Hurdle has been a regular during the Festival since 1946, and this three-mile hurdle takes centre-stage in the middle of day three's card.

Silver Bay was the first two-time winner of the Stayers' Hurdle, winning back-to-back renewals in 1913 and '14. 

Brown Lad won the Stayers' Hurdle under Tommy Carberry in 1975. He would go on to win the Irish Grand National three times, and twice finish second in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Galmoy became the second horses to successfully defend his crown in the late 1980s. Legendary trainers like Martin Pipe, Henrietta Knight and David Nicholson saddled Stayers' Hurdle winners in the 1990s.

French raider, Baracouda wowed the crowds at Cheltenham with two fantastic wins in 2002 and '03. François Doumen's star was then defeated two years on the bounce, losing out to Iris's Gift and Inglis Drever in '04 and '05.

Inglis Drever would become the first three-time winner of the Stayers' Hurdle when he collected further wins in 2007 and '08.

His achievement was soon surpassed by Paul Nicholls' Big Bucks. With Ruby Walsh in the saddle, Big Bucks dominated the Stayers' Hurdle between 2009 and 2012, winning the Stayers' Hurdle four times on the bounce.

After Jonjo O'Neill and Warren Greatrex celebrated wins, Colin Tizzard won his first Stayers' Hurdle when Thistlecrack cruised to victory.

Willie Mullins then took over, saddling back-to-back winners in Nichols Canyon and Penhill.

Emma Lavelle's Paisley Park scored a superb victory in the 2019 Stayers' Hurdle. Many expected Paisley Park to retain his crown in 2020, but the favourite produced a limp performance on the day, and his crown was taken by Lisnagar Oscar, who won at 50/1 for Adam Wedge and trainer, Rebecca Curtis.

Gavin Cromwell's Flooring Porter then capped a remarkable season with a brilliant front-running victory in the 2021 Stayers' Hurdle.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

07 December 2021

12 December 2021

Load More