• Home
  • Cheltenham
  • Day 3 Tips
  • Stayers Hurdle 15:30

Who wins the 2023 Stayers' Hurdle?

Last updated: 18 Feb 2023
Conrad Castleton 18 Feb 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • Key questions answered ahead of the 2023 Stayers' Hurdle
  • This Grade One will be run at the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday 16th March
  • Blazing Khal leads Teahupoo and Home By The Lee in the market
Who wins the 2023 stayers' hurdle
Danny Mullins and Flooring Porter win the Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle on day three of the Cheltenham Festival 2022. (Getty)

What is the Stayers' Hurdle?

The Stayers' Hurdle is a Grade One horse race that takes place at the Cheltenham Festival. The Stayers' Hurdle is the oldest of the four main Championship races at the Cheltenham Festival and takes place at Cheltenham racecourse, in Gloucestershire, England.

When is the 2023 Stayers' Hurdle?

The Stayers' Hurdle is always run on day three of the Cheltenham Festival. The 2023 Stayers' Hurdle will be run at 3:30pm at Cheltenham on Thursday 16th March.

Who won the Stayers' Hurdle?

Gavin Cromwell's Flooring Porter claimed his second successive victory in the Stayers' Hurdle at the 2022 Cheltenham Festival.

Who is the favourite for the Stayers' Hurdle?

Charlie Byrnes' runner, Blazing Khal has risen to the head of the Stayers' Hurdle betting in recent weeks. Teahupoo, Home By The Lee, Marie's Rock and defending champion, Flooring Porter also sit prominently in the market.

Will Flooring Porter run in the Stayers' Hurdle?

Reigning and defending two-time Stayers' Hurdle winner, Flooring Porter suffered an injury setback following his run at Leopardstown over Christmas. Gavin Cromwell has said recently that he does expect Flooring Porter to be fit in time for Cheltenham.

Who will win the 2023 Stayers' Hurdle?

You can read our full guide to the 2023 Stayers' Hurdle here on our website. You'll get the latest odds and our betting predictions in this free preview.

What distance is the Stayers' Hurdle?

The Stayers' Hurdle is run over a distance of three miles. That distance equates to 24 furlongs, or just over 4800 meters.

Who is the best winner of the Stayers' Hurdle ever?

Big Buck's is the only horse to have won the Stayers' Hurdle on four occasions, winning for four straight seasons between 2009 and 2012. Howard Johnson's popular stayer, Inglis Drever claimed the Stayers' Hurdle crown on three occasions. 

Which trainer has won the most Stayers' Hurdles?

Big Buck's trainer, Paul Nicholls is the most successful trainer in the history of the Stayers' Hurdle, having lifted the trophy on four occasions. Howard Johnson, Fulke Walwyn and W. Payne won the Stayers' Hurdle three times.

What is the first prize for the Stayers' Hurdle?

The first prize for the 2023 Stayers' Hurdle is £182,878. The overall prize pot for this Grade One totals over £350,000.

How can I watch the Stayers' Hurdle?

The 2023 Stayers' Hurdle will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to watch this race live via a mobile or tablet, then take a look at the Horse Racing Live Streaming page on our website.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More