Champion Bumper Tips

2020 Champion Bumper Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

One of the more unique races during the Cheltenham Festival, the Champion Bumper is a flat race for prospective jumpers which often perform well over the hurdles or steeplechase later in their careers. 

Holding a Grade 1 status, the Champion Bumper might be worth only £75,000, but it has produced the likes of Cue Card and Florida Pearl, which both went on to win other top races during the festival. 

It also gives the flat jockeys a chance to ride up in the weights and bettors love having a flutter on the exciting Champion Bumper.

Champion Bumper Key Facts

DateWednesday March 12, 2020
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£75,000

Champion Bumper Date & Time 2020

The RSA Chase is the final race run on Day 2 of the Cheltenham Festival. That falls on Wednesday March 12, 2020 and the official starting time is 5:30pm. 

The Day 2 card also includes the Novices’ Hurdle, Queen Mother Champion Chase and RSA Chase at Grade 1 level. 

2:10 – RSA Chase 
2:50 – Coral Cup 
4:10 – Cross Country Chase 
4:50 – Fred Winter Handicap Hurdle 
5:30 – Champion Bumper

Champion Bumper 2020 Betting Tips

We will have 2020 Champion Bumper tips available.

2020 Champion Bumper odds & field

We will have 2020 Champion Bumper odds & field available when released.

Champion Bumper winners

Willie Mullins has a great record producing flat winners which eventually become jumping stars. Mullins has lined up nine winners of the Champion Bumper, easily putting him at the top of the Champion Bumper winners’ list. 

The Champion Bumper past winners include famous names and despite being a relatively new race on the Cheltenham Festival card, it has become one of the must-see races. 

2019Envoi Allen
2015Moon Racer
2014Silver Concorde
2013Briar Hill
2012Champagne Fever
2010Cue Card
2008Cousin Vinny
2007Cork All Star
2006Hairy Molly
2005Missed That
2004Total Enjoyment
2001no race
2000Joe Cullen
1998Alexander Banquet

Champion Bumper history

The first Champion Bumper was held in 1992 when being taken out by Montelado for trainer Pat Flynn and jockey Richard Dunwoody. 

It’s the most prestigious flat race on the National Hunt calendar and the winner often goes on to have a storied career over the jumps.  

Having had many sponsors, including Weatherbys, Tote and Guinness, it is now called the Champion Bumper and it has been a successful race for the Irish runners. The Irish have dominated the Champion Bumper, mostly due to Willie Mullins but punters should look for the Irish runners. 

Ruby Walsh has scored three wins in the Champion Bumper and his last win came in 2013 with Briar Hill, but one of the more famous wins in the Champion Bumper came in 2018 when Katie Walsh scored her third Cheltenham Festival win. 

The 2015 Irish Grand National winner brought the house down when scoring aboard the Willie Mullins-trained runner in 2018 and it was a popular win with punters. 

Flat jockey Jamie Spencer scored a win in 2002 with Pizarro, showing that the flat jockeys can have success during the carnival. 

In 1996, Willie Mullins became the only man to train and ride the winner of the Champion Bumper with Wither or Which.