2024 Queen Mother Champion Chase Tips

6100 Showlhs N
The Queen Mother Champion Chase is the first race run on Day 2 of the Cheltenham Festival. That falls on Wednesday March 13, 2024 and the official starting time is 3:30pm. 

The Queen Mother Champion Chase has one of the biggest prize purses of the Cheltenham Festival and it’s also one of the more exciting chases over the four-day festival. 

With 12 fences to be jumped, the quality field takes flight over the new course at Cheltenham and punters have been treated to some champion winners in recent history. 

Sprinter Sacre, Altior and Master Minded are just a few recent winners of this great betting race. 

Queen Mother Champion Chase Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

Queen Mother Champion Chase Free Bets 2024

BookmakerFree BetPromo Code / OfferClaim Free Bet
€20 No Deposit & €100 Bundle (IRELAND ONLY)Code: FREEBET100€20 No Deposit
£10 RefundCode: NEWBONUS£10 BACK
Bet £10 Get £20£20 Free Bet£20 Bonus
Bet £10 Get £30Code: NEWBONUS£30 bonus

2024 Champion Chase Tips

If you are looking for predictions for the Champion Chase, our tips for the 2024 Champion Chase can be found here. Get the lowdown from our expert tips.

Champion Chase Bookie Specials

The bookmakers will go all in to kickstart the Cheltenham Festival. Have a look at all the enhanced odds and Champion Chase specials available with the top online bookies right now.

Queen Mother Champion Chase Key Facts

DateWednesday March 13, 2024
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£400,000

Queen Mother Champion Chase Winners

There have been plenty of dual winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase and 2018 champion Altior will be looking to add his name to that list. 

Recent dual winners have included Moscow Flyer, Master Minded and Sprinter Sacred.  

The past winners list is a who’s who in the chasing world and it always presents a quality field with quality winners.

Champion Chase Winners
2021Put The Kettle On
2017Special Tiara
2016Sprinter Sacre
2015Dodging Bullets
2014Sire de Grugy
2013Sprinter Sacre
2012Finian’s Rainbow
2011Sizing Europe
2010Big Zeb
2009Master Minded
2008Master Minded
2007Voy For Ustedes
2005Moscow Flyer
2003Moscow Flyer
2002Flagship Uberalles
2001no race
2000Edredon Bleu
1999Call Equiname
1998One Man

Queen Mother Champion Chase History

The first edition of the Queen Mother Champion Chase came in 1959 when the Dan Moore-trained Quita Que took out the feature at age 10. It would be the only Queen Mother Champion Chase victory for both trainer and jockey Bunny Cox. 

Since then, there have been many dual champions of the Queen Mother Champion Chase. A total of 12 horses have won the race more than once, including Badsworth Boy which scored three consecutive wins from 1983-1985. 

No horse has been able to repeat the feats of Badsworth Boy, who was trained by Michael Dickinson and ridden by Robert Earnshaw in all three victories. 

Originally called the National Hunt Two-Mile Champion Chase, the Queen Mother Champion Chase was given its current title in 1980 – the year of the Queen Mother’s 80th birthday – and it was given as a recognition of her support of jumps racing. 

The Queen Mother finished second in the race with Game Spirit in 1976. 

Having gone without a sponsor for many years, Sportingbet took over in 2011 and it’s currently sponsored by online bookmaker Betway. 

Trainer Tom Dreaper holds the record for most wins with six. He was successful with Fortia, Ben Stack, Flying Bolt, Muir and Straight Fort. 

Two jockeys have shared five wins a piece. Pat Taaffe was successful aboard most of Tom Dreapers’ winners and fellow jockey Barry Geraghty has had the most recent success. 

Punters have made a killing off Geraghty in recent times with wins aboard Moscow Flyer, Big Zeb, Finian’s Rainbow and Sprinter Sacre. 

Trainer Nicky Henderson has had plenty of recent success with wins coming from Finian’s Rainbow, Sprinter Sacre and Altior. 

Altior was due to go for a hat-trick of victories in 2020, but injury ruled Nicky Henderson's star out the day before the race. Defi Du Seuil then went off as the odds-on favourite, but he was upstaged by Politologue, who made all to claim a famous victory for Paul Nichols and jubilant owner, John Hales.

Queen Mother Champion Chase FAQs

When is the Queen Mother Champion Chase?

The Champion Chase is the fourth race on Day Two of the Cheltenham Festival on Wednesday, March 13th 2024. The Queen Mother Champion Chase is one of four championship races held at the Festival and is the feature race on day two of the meeting.

What time is the Cheltenham Queen Mother Champion Chase?

The 2024 Champion Chase is due off at 15:30 GMT on Wednesday, March 13th.

Who will win the Cheltenham Queen Mother Champion Chase?

Our Cheltenham betting tips have been carefully selected by seasoned Cheltenham pundits and horse racing experts. They're free, so check them out if you're not sure who to bet on in the Champion Chase.