RSA Chase Tips

2020 RSA Chase Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The RSA Chase might not have the history of some of the Cheltenham Festival races, but punters love betting on the Novices’ Chase and it remains as one of the better betting races of the four days. 

With a whopping 19 fences to jump, the big field stretches out over plenty of distance and it makes for one of the greatest spectacles during the jumping season.

RSA Chase Key Facts

DateWednesday March 12, 2020
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£175,000

RSA Chase Date & Time 2020

The RSA Chase is the second race run on Day 2 of the Cheltenham Festival. That falls on Wednesday March 12, 2020 and the official starting time is 2:40pm. 

The Day 2 card also includes the Novices’ Hurdle, Queen Mother Champion Chase and Champion Bumper at Grade 1 level. 

2:40 – RSA Chase 
4:10 – Cross Country Chase 
4:50 – Fred Winter Handicap Hurdle 
5:30 – Champion Bumper

RSA Chase 2020 Betting Tips

We will have 2020 RSA Chase tips available.

2020 RSA Chase odds & field

We will have 2020 RSA Chase odds & field available when they are released.

RSA Chase winners

Trainer Willie Mullins is tied with most wins after getting a win with Don Poli in 2015. He has trained many champion winners of the RSA Chase but Nicky Henderson has trained some good ones too. 

Might Bite scored a popular win in 2017 and Henderson also trained Bobs Worth and Trabolgan to victory. 

Which potential champion will add their name to the past winners list this year?

2018Presenting Percy
2017Might Bite
2015Don Poli
2014O'Faolain’s Boy
2013Lord Windermere
2012Bobs Worth
2011Bostons Angel
2010Weapon's Amnesty
2008Albertas Run
2006Star de Mohaison
2004Rule Supreme
2003One Knight
2002Hussard Collonges
2001no race
2000Lord Noelie
1999Looks Like Trouble
1998Florida Pearl

RSA Chase History

The grueling race for horses aged five years old or higher is a good lead-up race to the Cheltenham Gold Cup, with the likes of Bobs Worth and Lord Windermere going on to win the Gold Cup the following year. 

First run in 1946, the RSA Chase has been raced under many different names but currently is run under the RSA Insurance Chase title. 

The most successful jockey is Pat Taaffe, who scored five wins starting in 1953 and ending in 1970 when Proud Tarquin was victorious. The most successful recent jockey is Davy Russell, who scored wins in 2010, 2013 and 2018. 

Peter Scudamore scored three consecutive RSA Chase wins from 1991-1993. That feat has only been recorded once in the history of the race, with Pat Taaffe scoring three wins in four years. 

From 1948 to 1950, the race was held in divisions and the very first winner of the RSA Chase, Birthlaw, was aged 11 – a record that stands to this day. 

Most of the recent winners are aged seven of eight, with the seven-year-olds scoring 13 of the last 19 editions. 

The 1947 edition was abandoned due to snow and frost. The 2001 race, like every other race during the Cheltenham Festival, was called off due to a foot-and-mouth crisis.