• Home
  • Cricket
  • Caribbean Premier League

Caribbean Premier League Winners & History

  • History of the Caribbean Premier League
  • Results and winners of the CPL T20 title
  • The CPL was first launched in 2013
caribbean premier league cricket trinbago
Caribbean Premier League (Getty Images)
Freetips staff 24 Aug 2021
Share this article
success image

The Caribbean Premier League, also known as the CPL T20, started in 2013 and is one of the most popular tournaments played around the world.

The Trinbago Knight Riders won the 2020 Caribbean Premier League, beating the St Lucia Zouks by eight wickets, and have now won the most CPL titles with four.

Caribbean Premier League Winners

2020Trinbago Knight RidersSt Lucia Zouks
2019Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon Warriors
2018Trinbago Knight RidersGuyana Amazon Warriors
2017Trinbago Knight RigersSt Kitts and Nevis Patriots
2016Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon Warriors
2015Trinidad and Tobago Red SteelBarbados Tridents
2014Barbados Tridents
Guyana Amazon Warriors
2013Jamaica Tallawahs
Guyana Amazon Warriors

Caribbean Premier League History

There is a joke in T20 circles that the shortest format of cricket is born purely for the flamboyant West Indian players. Look at any T20 league and the best entertainers will often be the men from the Islands. No wonder then that at any player auction or draft they remain the biggest drawcards. 

How about an entire tournament of West Indian flavour? Those flamboyant shots, that reggae music in the stands, the passion in the oldies, and above all entertainment all the way through! Welcome to the Caribbean Premier League or CPL. It is not the first T20 league or the most commercialised one, but it certainly is the most colourful one.

One of the first privately organised T20 domestic cricket tournaments was held in the Caribbean Islands. The Stanford 20/20 lasted just two years before being transformed into the Caribbean Premier League in 2013.

Six teams across the West Indies contest the CPL - the Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Zouks and Trinbago Knight Riders. The tournament runs from June to August each year.

With its unique setting in the Caribbean Islands, the tournament is played in six venues and even ventured into the untapped United States to expand its reach. The tournament is divided into a group stage and knockouts. Each team plays ten matches in the group stages, three of which are played at home. 

The CPL has a very unusual format with all six teams located at the same venue for five sequential matches. The tournament then moves to a new location for five more games, and so on. The play-offs are played between the top four teams with the two semi-finals and the final all played at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad.

Each franchise is mandated to contract 15 players, including a maximum of five international players and four players under the age of 23. Each team has one local and one international player each.

There is considerable interest in the CPL, not just because of the star power that is on display. The tournament is set to gain some traction in the next years as can be seen from the fact that the Knight Riders franchise from the Indian Premier League have set their foot in the CPL by acquiring the Trinidad & Tobago franchise.

Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team in the tournament with four titles after winning the 2020 CPL.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

21 October 2021

24 October 2021

  • Man Utd vs Liverpool Betting Special
  • -
  • Soccer

30 October 2021

  • Dillian Whyte vs Otto Wallin Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

31 December 2021