Cricket World Cup Predictions & Tips

Cricket World Cup Betting Tips

The ICC Cricket World Cup or the Cricket World Cup is the international Championship of One Day International cricket. The tournament is held every four years and is arguably the most important event in the international cricket calendar.


First played in England in 1975, the World Cup came just four years after the first ever ODI match was played. That tournament was played over 60 overs, during the daytime with the players wearing traditional whites and using red cricket balls.

The 1979 World Cup saw the introduction of the ICC Trophy competition to select non-Test playing teams to compete in the tournament. Sri Lanka and Canada were the first benefactors of this provision, making it an eight-team competition. 

The next edition in 1983 was also played in England. The 1987 World Cup marked the first time the tournament was played in India and Pakistan, the first World Cup outside England. It also marked the reduction of overs from 60 to 50 which has now become the norm.


The Test-playing nations qualify directly to the World Cup, while other nations go through a set of qualifying tournaments to join them. The 2011 and 2015 editions featured 14 teams, but the 2019 World Cup will feature only ten sides.

That brought a huge uproar among the cricketing nations, as the associates felt that a shortened World Cup is a death knell to their hopes of playing the big teams. The ICC went ahead with its push, indicating that T20 World Cup will be open to the associates.

The hosts England and seven other teams according to the ICC One Day International standings as of 30 September 2017 received automatic qualification. For the remaining two spots, the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier was held in Zimbabwe among ten nations, including West Indies.

The format has changed across the years and in 2019 will be a round-robin format followed by knockouts. All ten teams will be in one group and play each other once. The top four teams will then contest the semi-finals followed by the finals. Incidentally, this is the same format that was used in the 1992 World Cup.

The Cricket World Cup is the world’s third largest and one of the world's most viewed sporting events behind the FIFA World Cup and the Summer Olympic Games. The Cricket World Cup has been dominated by Australia who have won five times. The West Indies won the first two editions and India have won on two occasions. 

India were surprise winners in 1983, sparking a cricket revolution in the subcontinent that has gradually propelled them to the epi-centre of cricket in the modern era. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have both won one World Cup each.

The next World Cup will be held in England and Wales in 2019. Can the originators of the sport finally win the tournament in their own backyard?

Here at we provide regular 2019 Cricket World Cup Tips which include our Head to Head, Top Runscorer, Most Runs, Innings/Match Runs and Total Match 6’s.

We have one mission at, to provide you with expertly researched 2019 Cricket World Cup Tips that you can use to have a successful tournament.

Cricket World Cup Winners and Runners-up

2015Australia / New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand
2011India / Sri Lanka / BangladeshIndiaSri Lanka
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri Lanka
2003South Africa / Zimbabwe / KenyaAustraliaIndia
1999England / Scotland / Wales / Ireland / NetherlandsAustraliaPakistan
1996Pakistan / India / Sri LankaSri LankaAustralia
1992Australia / New ZealandPakistanEngland
1987India / PakistanAustraliaEngland
1983EnglandIndiaWest Indies
1979EnglandWest IndiesEngland
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustralia

Cricket Previews & Tips