One Day International Cricket Tips, Previews & Predictions

100 Showlhs N

One Day International Cricket

One Day Internationals (ODI) is a form of cricket between two teams with international status that is limited to 50 overs for each team. The pinnacle of One Day International cricket is the Cricket World Cup.

The first ODI was played in 1971 between Australia and England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The match came about because of the first three days of the third Test being washed out, with officials deciding to play a one-off 40 eight-ball overs per side match.

Australian businessman and television tycoon Kerry Packer established the World Series Cricket competition in the late 1970s, which was the precursor to the game we see today. 

Coloured uniforms, matches played at night under lights and a white ball was designed to be spectacle for television broadcasts, which included multiple camera angles, effects microphones and on-screen graphics. 

The main benefit to players was their ability become international professionals and get paid for playing cricket where previously many needed jobs outside cricket. 

When matches are interrupted by bad weather and overs are lost as a result, the target or result is determined by the Duckworth-Lewis method which has been used since the late 1990s.

The basic rules of cricket remain in One Day Internationals, but there are a few subtle differences. Due to each team batting and bowling for a maximum of 50 overs, each bowler is restricted a maximum of 10 overs.

There are also fielding restrictions designed to prevent teams setting ultra-defensive fields. Fielding restrictions are set by the maximum number of fieldsmen allowed to be outside a thirty-yard circle from the pitch.

There are different types of fielding restrictions in One Day International cricket which has changed throughout the years. The main purpose is to give batsmen more opportunities to attack which is seen as a major drawcard in the sport.

In the first 10 overs which is a mandatory powerplay, the fielding team can’t have more than two fielders outside the 30-yard circle. In the final 10 overs, a maximum of five fielders are allowed to be outside the 30-yard circle.

The twelve Test-playing nations have permanent ODI status including Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Ireland.

Four nations currently have temporary ODI status including Scotland, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands and Nepal. Nations outside temporary status are Kenya, Canada, Bermuda, Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea.

Many One Day International cricket matches take place as stand-alone series between two nations, usually before or after a Test series. ODI series between three of four nations are also common.

The two major ODI tournaments include the Cricket World Cup and ICC Champions Trophy. The Asia Cup has been run since 1983 and mainly features Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and India. 

The ICC introduced the ODI Championship in 2005, which is a ranking system with teams receiving points after each game based on a mathematical formula. 

ICC ODI Rankings as of 1 June 2018

3South Africa34113
4New Zealand41112
8Sri Lanka4377
9West Indies2969

Here at we provide regular One Day International cricket tips which include our head to head, top runscorer, most wickets, innings/match runs and total match 6's, One Day International cricket accumulator tips and One Day International cricket futures and outright tips.

Our mission at is to provide you with expertly researched One Day International cricket tips that you can use to have successful tournaments and build your bankroll.

Cricket Tips, Previews & Predictions