Pakistan Super League Betting Tips

100 Showlhs N

Pakistan Super League

Cricket for Pakistani people is not just a game, it is part of their life and the chief form of entertainment. For a nation that has been deprived of international cricket after the terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan team in 2009, the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is the culmination of their emotions, raw passion, and a never-ending love for the game.

It is a vehicle that brought cricket home and is working as a catalyst for the return of international cricket to Pakistan. It’s one of the youngest T20 cricket leagues in world cricket but PSL has its own charm.

In the wake of continuous absence of international cricket at home, the Pakistan Cricket Board wanted to start a franchise-based T20 tournament to rival the more accomplished Indian Premier League. In September 2015, the PSL was announced as the newest entrant on the T20 franchise tournament landscape with five teams.

One of the unique factors that separate PSL is that the league is a single entity in which each franchise is owned and controlled by investors. The PSL season runs between February and March and the first tournament was played in 2016, played in the United Arab Emirates due to security reasons.

The 2017 final was played in Lahore with most of the international stars refusing to travel, but Darren Sammy’s presence added glitz and to the spectacle. The 2018 PSL competition featured three matches on home soil with hopes for the tournament to be played entirely in Pakistan in the near future. 

The five franchises that contested the first Pakistan Super League were Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators. A sixth team was added to the roster in 2017 with the Multan Sultans joining the PSL bandwagon. There were reports that a new team from Azad Kashmir would be added but it hasn’t materialised.

Teams play each other twice in a double round-robin format with the top four teams advancing to the playoffs. The first two placed sides play in the qualifier with the winner going straight to the final. The third and fourth teams play in the first eliminator with the winner playing the loser of the qualifier to determine who reaches the final.

The tournament hasn’t been without its share of controversies, most notably the 2017 spot-fixing scandal. Six cricketers were suspended by the PCB and some of the names were big in domestic cricket, with Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Irfan, Shahzaib Hasan, and Mohammad Nawaz all suspended. PCB tried to reduce the damage by constituting investigations and banning the players from further participation in any form of cricket.

Islamabad United are the most successful franchise winning two of the three editions so far, with Peshawar Zalmi winning the other. The individual awards are the ‘Hanif Mohammad’ award and a green cap for the leading run-scorer, the ‘Fazal Mahmood’ award and a maroon cap for the leading wicket-taker and the ‘Imtiaz Ahmed’ award for the best wicket-keeper. 

Designed as Pakistan’s answer to the highly successful IPL, the PSL was expected to become a cash cow for PCB while also working as a feeder line for the national team. With names like Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, and Hasan Ali using the PSL to make their entry to the national team, it appears to be working thus far.

At we provide regular PSL Cricket Tips including our Head to Head, Top Run scorer, Top Wicket taker, Innings/Match Runs and Total Match 6's.

Pakistan Super League Winners and Runners-Up

2019Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi
2018Islamabad United Peshawar Zalmi
2017Peshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators
2016Islamabad United
Quetta Gladiators

Cricket Betting Tips & Previews