Sheffield Shield Tips & Predictions

100 Showlhs N

Sheffield Shield

It may be the domestic first-class cricket competition in Australia, but the Sheffield Shield is one of the most iconic cricket tournaments in the world. The Sheffield Shield is contested between the six states of Australia and got its name from the donor Lord Sheffield.

The history of the Sheffield Shield goes back to the English tour of Australia in 1891. With questions on the adverse effect of the tour on the local competition, the Earl of Sheffield donated 150 pounds to the New South Wales Cricket Association to fund an annual tournament. 

The first edition was played in 1892/93 with the three states of New South Wales, Victoria, and South Australia participating. The state of Queensland was admitted in 1926/27, Western Australia joined in 1947-48, while Tasmania had to wait until 1977-78 to get inducted into the tournament.

The teams that play the Sheffield Shield now (together with their sponsored names):

  • New South Wales (NSW Blues)
  • Queensland (Queensland Bulls)
  • South Australia (Southern Redbacks)
  • Tasmania (Tasmanian Tigers)
  • Victoria (Victorian Bushrangers)
  • Western Australia (Wester Warriors)

In 1999 the Australian Cricket Board (which is now Cricket Australia) renamed the Sheffield Shield to the “Pura Milk Cup” and then to “Pura Cup” the following season. The name change was because of sponsorship reasons, that increased the total annual prize money to AUD 220, 000.

For the 2008-09 season, the name got changed to “Sheffield Shield presented by Weet-Bix” and from the 2017-18 season, it will be “JLT Sheffield Shield”.


Each side plays each other side twice home and away in a four-day fixture. Since 1982-83 the top two teams after the 10 league games have met in a final to decide the winner. The team with the most points in the league will get a chance to host the final against the second-ranked team. 

The league toppers need only a draw or tie in the final to win the title, whereas the second-ranked team need to win for them to have a chance of lifting the Sheffield Shield.

Points System

The points system that the Sheffield Shield adopts is very unique and that’s what makes it one of the most exciting domestic cricket competitions. 

  • An outright win (irrespective of the first innings result) – 6 points.
  • A tie (irrespective of the first innings result) – 3 points.
  • An outright loss (irrespective of the first innings result) – 0 points.
  • Abandoned or drawn matches (irrespective of the first innings result) – 1 point.
  • Bonus batting – 0.01 for every run above 200 in the first 100 overs of the first innings of each team only.
  • Bonus bowling – 0.1 for taking each wicket in the first 100 overs of the first innings of each team only.
  • Bonus point (example): If after 100 overs the score is 8/350, the batting team would receive 1.5 points ([350 - 200] × 0.01), and the bowling side would receive 0.8 points (0.1 for each wicket)
  • Quotient (batting average divided by bowling average) is used to separate teams which finish on equal number of points.
  • Teams can be penalised for not maintaining adequate over rates.


Queensland are the current Champions after defeating Tasmania in 2017-18, while New South Wales are the most successful team with 46 titles. The best player of the season also gets the “Player of the Year” award.

Matthew Elliott has won the award three times, the most by any player in the history of the Sheffield Shield. In 2017-18 it was won by the Victorian pace bowler Chris Tremain.

Here at we provide regular Sheffield Shield cricket tips which include our head to head, top runscorer, most wickets, innings/match runs and total match 6's, Sheffield Shield cricket accumulator tips and Sheffield Shield cricket futures and outright tips.

Our mission at is to provide you with expertly researched Sheffield Shield cricket tips that you can use to build your bankroll.

Recent Sheffield Shield Winners & Runners-Up

South Australia
South Australia
Western Australia
2013-14New South WalesWestern Australia
New South Wales

Cricket Previews & Tips