• Home
  • Cricket
  • Momentum One Day Cup

Momentum One Day Cup Winners & History

  • A guide to the previous winners of the Momentum One Day Cup
  • The competition is the provincial 50-over competition in South African cricket
  • Cape Cobras have won the most Momentum One Day Cup with 9 titles
cape cobras
Cape Cobras (Getty Images)
Freetips staff 12 Jan 2021
Share this article
success image

The Momentum One Day Cup (MOC) is the South African provincial 50-over cricket tournament. 

Six franchise based teams play in the competition which represents various regions across South Africa. The six teams are the Cape Cobras, Warriors, Lions, Knights, Titans and Dolphins.

The Cape Cobras, previously known as Western Province, are the most successful team in the history of the competitions have nine Momentum One Day Cup titles.

They are followed by the Lions (Transvaal) with seven.

2020 Dolphins
2019 Titans
2018 Dolphins & Warriors (shared)
2017 Titans
2016 Lions
2015 Titans
2014 Cobras & Titans (shared)
2013 Cobras & Lions (shared)
2012 Cobras
2011 Knights
2010 Warriors
2009 Titans
2008 Titans
2007 Cobras
2006 Knights
2005 Knights
2004 Lions
2003 Cobras
2002 Dolphins
2001 Dolphins
2000 Boland
1999 Griqualand West
1998 Lions
1997 Dolphins
1996 Knights
1995 Knights
1994 Knights
1993 Lions
1992 Warriors
1991 Cobras
1990 Warriors
1989 Knights
1988 Cobras
1987 Cobras
1986 Cobras
1985 Lions
1984 Dolphins
1983 Lions
1982 Lions


The Momentum One Day Cup has been running since the 1982/83 season albeit under various guises. Known simply as the One Day Cup without a sponsor but it has only had one season without a sponsor in 2011/12.

The tournament began as the Benson and Hedges series with and from 1994/95 season had 11 teams in the competition. In 1997/98 it became the Standard Bank League with the same amount of teams until Namibia were added in 2002/03.

The 2004/05 season saw a re-organised tournament with six franchise teams playing each other home and away. That format has remained to this day. 

Only the 2007/08 season, which saw Zimbabwe join its ranks, had seven teams.

All six Momentum One Day Cup teams play each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format. 

The top four teams at the end of the round-robin stage compete in the semi finals to decide who plays the Momentum One Day Cup final.

The team that tops the table will host the fourth placed side in the first semi final while second will host third to decide the final. 

The hosting ground will be decided by which of the two teams in the final finished highest in the round-robin stage.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

23 April 2021

  • Sandor Martin vs Kay Prosper Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

01 May 2021

09 May 2021

29 May 2021