ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Tips & Predictions

100 Showlhs N

ICC T20 World Cup Betting Tips

In the melee of global T20 leagues, it is easy to forget that the first steps in this format were taken in the ICC World Twenty20. Also referred as the World T20 or the T20 World Cup, this is a global tournament that is organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC).

This biennial tournament currently consists of 16 teams, comprising of all ten ICC full members and six associate members who qualify through the World Twenty20 Qualifier. 

The 2020 edition was postponed due to COVID-19 and took place in 2021. 

FreeTips.com provides betting tips and previews for every game throughout the tournament as well as predictions for the T20 World Cup winner.

Bonus Bets

  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration required. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    Double the Odds
    Maximum stake is £10. Exclusive to new members. Keep it fun – set your deposit limit. T&Cs apply. 18 Plus. begambleaware.org
  • Deposit £10
    Get £60 Play
    Bonus Code
    18+. Matched Deposit & £60 Free Play for new UK players only, min deposit £10. Free Play given in tickets over 6 days. Matched Deposit max $600 - withdrawal restrictions & play through requirements apply. Full T&Cs Apply. begambleaware.org. Please play responsibly.
  • £10
    Free bet
    Use code
    Get £10 free bet. Use the promo code NEWBONUS.
  • Free Bet Refund
    Join betgoodwin with promo code NEWBONUS and get access to their £100 Free Bet Refunds offer. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.

Betting on T20 World Cup Cricket

There are hundreds of different ways to bet on a cricket match including a host of live or in play betting options. Here are some of the most common types of cricket betting markets:

Head to Head: Simply pick the team you think will win the game.

Top Runscorer: Pick the player you think will score the most runs for their team.

Most Runs: Pick two players in a head to head match, with the winner scoring the most runs. Can either be two players on the same team or opposing teams.

Next Man Out: Predominantly available during live betting, make a call on which batsman will be out next.

Highest First 10 Overs: Which team will score the most runs in the first 10 overs?

Innings/Match Runs: How many runs in total from both teams do you think will be scored in the innings or match?

Highest Opening Partnership: Pick which opening partnership will score the most runs.

Method of 1st Dismissal: How will the 1st dismissal occur? Bowled, caught, LBW, stumped?

Total Match 6s: This is one of the highlights of the game of cricket, certainly in limited overs games such as Twenty20. How many times will the ball be smashed out of the park?

Team to Hit Most 6s: Which team will hit the most 6’s? Does the home team have a big advantage playing in their own backyard, or are the opposition bowlers simply too good?

T20 World Cup Format

All ICC full members and some associate (through qualification process) qualify for the T20 Cricket World Cup. The top eight sides automatically progress to the Super 12 (two groups of six). That means two spots remain open in each group.

In round one there are two groups of four teams each. Each team within their group plays the other sides in the group (three matches). The top two from each group advance to the Super 12.

Qualification Process

All ICC full members qualify automatically for the tournament with the remaining places filled through a qualification tournament. The number of teams taking the qualifier route has changed over the years.

For the 2020 ICC World Twenty20 in Oman and UAE, 10 teams qualify through the rankings in the ICC T20I Championship. 

For the remaining six berths, a World Twenty20 qualifier will be held among the non-qualifying full members and the associate members. The cutoff date for automatic qualification is kept as December 31, 2018 after which the dates for the qualifier tournament will be announced.

In case of a tie in any game, a “Super Over” would be used to decide the winner. In the case of a tie in the “Super Over”, the match is won by the team that has scored the most sixes in their innings. 

This is applicable in all stages of the tournament, after having been implemented first time during the 2009 tournament. During the inaugural tournament in 2007, a bowl-out was used to decide the winner of tied matches.


The tournament was initially played between ten teams and there were 12 participants in the 2012 edition. The 2014 tournament, held in Bangladesh was the first to feature 16 teams. However, the format was tweaked to give preference to the Test playing nations.

The top eight full members were given a direct place in the Super 10 stages, and the remaining two teams came through the group stage where associate members also took part.

T20 World Cup FAQs

What is the T20 World Cup

It is the top international competition played over the 20-over format of cricket. It was first held in 2007.

How many teams compete at the T20 World Cup?

A total of 16 teams play in the tournament - 10 ICC full members and six associate members who qualify through the World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Where can I watch the T20 World Cup live stream?

Check our live streaming calendar to see where to watch the T20 World Cup live stream.