• Home
  • Cricket
  • T20 World Cup

New Zealand name star-studded squad for 2024 T20 Cricket World Cup

Last updated: 21 May 2024
Ralph Staniforth 21 May 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
  • Fast bowling duo Tim Southee and Trent Boult are a big boost for Kiwis.
  • Skipper Kane Williamson hits his sixth T20 World Cup leading an experienced squad.
  • The 2024 T20 World Cup will be staged from 1-29 June 2024.
Kane Williamson
Mr Consistency Kane Williamson is key to Kiwi success.

Squad strength

New Zealand have chosen a well-balanced squad with a string of high-performers capable of taking their side the distance. Exciting talents Rachin Ravindra and Matt Henry are some of the least experienced players in the squad but have huge match-winning ability. Fast bowler Kyle Jamieson misses out due to a back injury, while all-rounder Adam Milne’s ankle problems have ended his World Cup dreams for 2024.

Key players

Glenn Phillips and Finn Allen are the Blacks Caps’ quick-scorers and if they both hit form then New Zealand will really light up the tournament. Williamson hasn’t had a lot of match action recently but is usually a consistent scorer for New Zealand, especially in the big tournaments. Tim Southee and Trent Boult spearhead the attack and the pair’s performances will have a major impact on the Black Caps’ success in the tournament. 

Coach’s call

“We expect the venues in the West Indies to offer quite varied conditions and feel we’ve selected a squad with the scope to adapt to those conditions,” said New Zealand coach Gary Stead.

"Matt Henry has worked exceptionally hard on his skills across the phases of a T20 game to come back into selection consideration. Rachin Ravindra has made every post a winner in the past 12 months and it was exciting to see him continue that trajectory over the summer in the T20 format against Australia.”


  • Kane Williamson (captain)
  • Finn Allen
  • Trent Boult
  • Michael Bracewell
  • Mark Chapman
  • Devon Conway
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Matt Henry
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee

Travelling Reserve: 
  • Ben Sears

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

22 June 2024

  • Royal Ascot 2024 Day Five -
  • Horse Racing
Load More