• Home
  • Cricket
  • T20 World Cup

South Africa selects strong squad as they look to put the 'chokers' tag to bed

Last updated: 21 May 2024
Ralph Staniforth 21 May 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
  • Big chance for De Kock and Hendricks; VD Dussen and Bavuma omitted
  • Aiden Markram leads a batting line-up of big hitters
  • The 2024 T20 World Cup will be staged from 2-29 June 2024.
Aiden Markram
Aiden Markram hooks against Australia. (credit: Arun Sankar / Getty Images)

Squad strength

A strong bowling line-up is matched by some of the biggest hitters on the global stage. While the presence of four batter-wicketkeepers ensures the side will never be without a competent gloveman, the squad is relatively inexperienced and if the top six don’t fire, there is a long tail that lacks hitting power. 

Key players

Success at this World Cup will rely on Rabada, Jansen and Maharaj’s control and ability to knock over opponents with the ball, while De Kock’s form at the top of the order will have a massive bearing on results. Many will be looking to Heinrich Klaasen for big runs, but Tristan Stubbs might prove to be the big match-winner, if given a chance. 

This is possibly David Miller’s last chance for World Cup glory… and the Proteas’ success will depend to a great deal on his ability to see an innings through when called upon.

Coach’s call

"Selecting this group was extremely tough considering the amount of T20 cricket that has been played recently and the form that has been on show. I want to congratulate the two uncapped players, Ryan and Ottniel, on their selection,” said coach Rob Walter.

"We have seen some incredible performances from our players in 2024 and that made my job very tough indeed. I am confident that we have named the strongest possible squad that has every chance of success in the West Indies and USA."


  • Aiden Markram (captain)
  • Ottniel Baartman
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Bjorn Fortuin 
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Marco Jansen
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • Keshav Maharaj 
  • David Miller 
  • Anrich Nortje 
  • Kagiso Rabada 
  • Ryan Rickelton
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • Tristan Stubbs

Travelling Reserves
  • Nandre Burger 
  • Lungi Ngidi

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

22 June 2024

  • Royal Ascot 2024 Day Five -
  • Horse Racing
Load More