• Home
  • Darts
  • PDC World Matchplay

PDC World Matchplay Winners List - Champions, Runners-up & Final Scores

  • Full list of the PDC World Matchplay champions
  • Phil Taylor dominated at Winter Gardens throughout his career
  • History of one of darts' most famous events
phil taylor world matchplay
Phil Taylor dominated the World Matchplay Darts at the Winter Gardens (Getty Images)
Freetips staff 15 Jul 2021
Share this article
success image

Larry Butler won the inaugural PDC World Matchplay title in 1994 before Phil Taylor took over.

Taylor won five straight titles from 2000-04 and seven straight titles from 2008-14.

Michael van Gerwen and Rod Harrington have both won two World Matchplay titles.

PDC World Matchplay Winners

YearChampion (final average)ScoreRunner-up (final average)Prize money
2020Dimitri Van den Bergh (98.31)18-10Gary Anderson (92.81)£700,000
2019Rob Cross (95.16)18–13Michael Smith (95.91)£700,000
2018Gary Anderson (101.12)21–19Mensur Suljović (104.43)£500,000
2017Phil Taylor (104.24)18–8Peter Wright (99.74)£500,000
2016Michael van Gerwen (103.93)18–10Phil Taylor (101.13)£450,000
2015Michael van Gerwen (99.91)18–12James Wade (90.37)£450,000
2014Phil Taylor (107.19)18–9Michael van Gerwen (101.49)£450,000
2013Phil Taylor (111.23)18–13Adrian Lewis (105.92)£400,000
2012Phil Taylor (98.97)18–15James Wade (95.92)£400,000
2011Phil Taylor (103.84)18–8James Wade (98.84)£400,000
2010Phil Taylor (105.16)18–12Raymond van Barneveld (100.11)£400,000
2009Phil Taylor (106.05)18–4Terry Jenkins (92.32)£400,000
2008Phil Taylor (109.47)18–9James Wade (102.58)£300,000
2007James Wade (96.83)18–7Terry Jenkins (91.62)£200,000
2006Phil Taylor (100.08)18–11James Wade (90.01)£150,000
2005Colin Lloyd (97.89)18–12John Part (94.53)£120,000
2004Phil Taylor (100.20)18–8Mark Dudbridge (89.24)£100,000
2003Phil Taylor (94.38)18–12Wayne Mardle (97.44)£80,000
2002Phil Taylor (98.76)18–16John Part (94.14)£75,500
2001Phil Taylor (99.57)18–10Richie Burnett (90.99)£65,000
2000Phil Taylor (100.32)18–12Alan Warriner (97.14)£58,000
1999Rod Harrington (85.95)19–17Peter Manley (86.91)£58,000
1998Rod Harrington (95.03)19–17Ronnie Baxter (94.07)£58,000
1997Phil Taylor (106.32)16–11Alan Warriner (98.42)£46,000
1996Peter Evison (100.51)16–14Dennis Priestley (96.67)£46,000
1995Phil Taylor (90.72)16–11Dennis Priestley (87.63)£42,800
1994Larry Butler (90.72)16–12Dennis Priestley (91.59)£42,800

PDC World Matchplay History

PDC World Matchplay began in 1994 in the Empress Ballroom at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool, England. Larry Butler won the tournament after beating Dennis Priestley 16-12 in the final.

The 1995 World Matchplay was Jocky Wilson's last appearance in a major televised darts even with a second round defeat against Nigel Justice effectively ending his career.

Over the course of the World Matchplay's 26-year existence there have only been nine different winners. They are Phil Taylor (16), Rod Harrington (2), Michael van Gerwen (2), Gary Anderson (1), Larry Butler (1), Rob Cross (1), Peter Evison (1), Colin Lloyd (1) and James Wade (1).

From 2018 the World Matchplay champion receives the Phil Taylor Trophy. The trophy was announced by the PDC following the retirement of the 16 time winner.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

07 August 2021

14 August 2021

  • Joshua Buatsi vs Ricards Bolotniks Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

29 August 2021

25 September 2021

30 October 2021

31 December 2021

28 May 2022