• Home
  • Darts
  • Players Championship Darts

Players Championship Darts Winners List - Champions, Runners-up & Final Scores

24 Nov 2022
Freetips staff 24 Nov 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • Full list of the Players Championship Darts champions
  • Michael van Gerwen leads the way with six titles
  • Phil Taylor has three victories to his name
Players Championship darts
Michael Van Gerwen has won six titles (Getty Images)

The Players Championship was first held in 2009 with Phil Taylor beating Robert Thornton 16-9 in the inaugural final. 

The tournament, which features qualifying via the PDC Order of Merit, pits the season's top 64 performers together in the final.

Michael van Gerwen has won the most Players Championship Finals titles with six titles. Phil Taylor is next best with three titles.

Peter Wright is the reigning champion after defeating Ryan Searle in the 2021 final.

Players Championship Darts Winners

YearChampion (final average)ScoreRunner-up (final average)Prize MoneyVenue
2021Peter Wright (95.49)11-10Ryan Searle (92.10)£500,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2020Michael van Gerwen (104.98) 11-10 Mervyn King (99.78) £500,000 Ricoh Arena, Coventry
2019Michael van Gerwen (97.92)11–9Gerwyn Price (96.48)£500,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2018Daryl Gurney (95.61)11–9Michael van Gerwen (100.20)£460,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2017Michael van Gerwen (105.50)11–2Jonny Clayton (94.64)£460,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2016Michael van Gerwen (108.34)11–3Dave Chisnall (99.24)£400,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2015Michael van Gerwen (100.32)11–6Adrian Lewis (89.17)£300,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2014Gary Anderson (101.01)11–6Adrian Lewis (95.37)£300,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2013Michael van Gerwen (102.45)11–7Phil Taylor (102.64)£250,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2012Phil Taylor (103.57)13–6Kim Huybrechts (91.70)£250,000Butlins Resort, Minehead
2011 (Dec)Kevin Painter (96.28)13–9Mark Webster (93.31)£250,000Doncaster Dome, Doncaster
2011 (Feb)Phil Taylor (97.01)13–12Gary Anderson (96.31)£250,000Doncaster Dome, Doncaster
2010Paul Nicholson (92.75)13–11Mervyn King (89.74)£250,000Circus Tavern, Purfleet
2009Phil Taylor (98.04)16–9Robert Thornton (88.52)£200,000Circus Tavern, Purfleet


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers