• Home
  • Esports
  • Dota 2

Dota 2 The International Format & Qualification - Who are the 18 teams?

Last updated: 16 Oct 2023
Freetips staff 16 Oct 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • Dota 2 The International 2021 starts on October 7
  • 18 teams will compete in the $40 million Aegis of Champions in Bucharest
  • A look at the format and qualification process
dota 2 the international
Dota 2 The International (Getty Images)

Dota 2 The International Format

Dota 2 International 2021 sees the 18 teams split into two groups of nine when the tournament gets underway in Bucharest on October 7.

The teams meet twice each in the group stages with the bottom team in each group eliminated.

The top four teams in each group qualify for the upper bracket of the knockout draw, and the teams finishing in 5th to 8th spot move into the lower bracket.

It is knockout Dota 2 action from there with teams beaten in the upper bracket dropping into the lower bracket and receiving a second chance. Teams losing in the lower bracket are eliminated.

The final two teams standing clash to be crowned Aegis of Champions.

Dota 2 The International Qualification Process

The International was first held in 2011 and brought the world's best Dota teams together under one roof to clash for the title.

Now in the 10th year, qualification has taken place throughout the year to determine the 16 teams contesting The International.

A single competitive season of the Dota Pro Circuit takes place over a calendar year with three tours in each season.

DPC points are earned during each tour, which consists of one Regional League tournament and one Major tournament, with the standings determining qualification for The International.

Each Regional League is staged as a round-robin tournament, offering winning teams a path to competing in the Major. 

The Majors are elimination-style tournaments with the leading teams earning cash prizes and vital DPC points.

The top 12 teams in the DPC Points list are guaranteed a spot in The International with the final six spots being decided during regional qualifiers.

Dota 2 The International 2021 Teams

The 18 teams to have qualified are:

  • Alliance
  • beastcoast
  • Elephant
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Fnatic
  • Invictus Gaming
  • OG
  • Quincy Crew
  • SG e-sports
  • T1
  • Team Aster
  • Team Secret
  • Team Spirit
  • Thunder Predator
  • Undying
  • Vici Gaming
  • Virtus Pro

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

22 June 2024

  • Royal Ascot 2024 Day Five -
  • Horse Racing
Load More