A-League Tips, Predictions & Previews


The A-League is a professional men’s football league organised by Football Federation Australia (FFA). It was established in 2004 as a replacement for the National Soccer League with competition commencing in August 2005.

Ten teams compete in the A-league, nine from Australia and one based in New Zealand. The regular season runs mainly during the Australian summer from early October to April the following year. The competition consists of 27 rounds, with each team playing every other team three times.

The finals series involves the top six teams and culminates with the Grand Final to decide the winner. Unlike most European leagues, there is currently no system for promotion and relegation.

The A-League Premiers (regular season winners) and A-League Champions (winners of grand final) qualify for the Asian Champions League group stage the following season. The team determined to be the third best enter the Asian Champions League playoffs.

Melbourne Victory are the most successful A-League team with four titles. Sydney FC are next best with three, followed by Central Coast Mariners, Adelaide United and Brisbane Roar who all have two A-League titles.

Melbourne Victory are the defending champions after winning the 2017-18 Grand Final 1-0 against the Newcastle Jets.

Recent A-League Champions and Premiers

2017-18Melbourne VictorySydney FC
2016-17Sydney FCMelbourne Victory
2015-16Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory
2014-15Adelaide UnitedAdelaide United
2013-14Brisbane Roar
Brisbane Roar
2012-13Central Coast MarinersWestern Sydney Wanderers
2011-12Brisbane Roar
Central Coast Mariners
2010-11Brisbane RoarBrisbane Roar
2009-10Sydney FC
Sydney FC
2008-09Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Here at FreeTips.com we provide regular A-League tips which include our best bet, over/under tips, first goalscorer tips, both teams to score (BTTS) tips, A-League accumulator tips and A-League futures and outright tips.

Our mission at FreeTips.com is to provide you with expertly researched A-League football tips that you can use to build your bankroll.

Football Previews, Predictions & Tips