AFC Asian Cup Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

AFC Asian Cup

The AFC Asian Cup is an international football tournament run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). The Asian Cup is the second oldest continental football tournament in the world after the Copa América

The Asian Football Confederation was established in 1954 with the first AFC Asian Cup hosted by Hong Kong in 1956. There were only four teams in the first tournament which continued in 1960 and 1964.

The Asian Cup was held every four years until China 2004, with the AFC deciding to hold the next edition in 2007 to avoid clashing with the Summer Olympic Games and the European Football Championships.

Australia joined the Asian Football Confederation in 2007 and finished runners-up in 2011 after losing the final against Japan. Australia were granted hosting rights in 2015, the Socceroos winning the tournament on home soil after defeating South Korea in the final. 

The 2019 tournament will be hosted by the United Arab Emirates and will be expanded from 16 to 24 teams. The qualifying campaign will form part of the qualification for the FIFA World Cup.

Japan are the most successful nation in the Asian Cup, winning four titles in 1992, 2000, 2004 and 2011. Saudi Arabia and Iran are next best with three titles each, South Korea winning twice in 1956 and 1960.

Japan and Saudi Arabia have been the most successful nations since 1984, winning seven of the last nine finals but winning one of the last three.

The 2019 AFC Asian Cup will be the 17th edition of the tournament and will be held in the United Arab Emirates from 5 January to 1 February 2019.

24 teams qualified for the tournament with nations including hosts United Arab Emirates, Iran, Australia, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, China PR, Syria, Uzbekistan, Iraq, Qatar, Thailand, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Palestine, Oman, India, Vietnam, North Korea, Philippines, Bahrain, Jordan,  Yemen and Turkmenistan.

Recent AFC Asian Cup Winners, Runners-Up & Hosts


United Arab Emirates
2015AustraliaSouth KoreaAustralia
2007IraqSaudi ArabiaIndonesia / Malaysia / Thailand / Vietnam
2000JapanSaudi ArabiaLebanon
1996Saudi ArabiaUnited Arab EmiratesUnited Arab Emirates
1992JapanSaudi ArabiaJapan
1988Saudi ArabiaSouth KoreaQatar
1984Saudi ArabiaChinaSingapore
1980KuwaitSouth KoreaKuwait

We will have regular AFC Asian Cup football tips during the tournament including AFC Asian Cup Match Bet Tips (Win/Draw/Win), Handicap Tips and Both Teams To Score (BTTS) Tips. Don't forget our AFC Asian Cup Outright / Futures Tips including Group Winner, to finish bottom of group and AFC Asian Cup tournament winner. 

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips