2019 CAF Africa Cup of Nations Groups & Match Fixtures

All the groups and match information for the tournament in Egypt
caf draw
The 2019 CAF African Cup of Nations draw ceremony was held in front of the Sphinx and Giza Pyramids Necropolis in Egypt (Getty Images)

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations draw has been made with some interesting groups for the tournament in Egypt. The continent's elite nations will face each other as they attempt to claim Africa's number one football prize.

Hosts Egypt and Nigeria appear to have been given a relatively easy passage to the knockout rounds. There always has to be a group of death at international tournaments with Group D filling that role, three former champions all drawn together with Morocco, Ivory Coast and South Africa vying for top spot and Namibia likely to be the whipping boys. 

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Groups

Seven-time champions and hosts Egypt have been handed a favourable draw are almost certain to progress from Group A alongside DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe. Group B features three-time winners Nigeria who will fancy their chances against Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi. 

Senegal and Algeria should battle for supremacy in Group C alongside Kenya and Tanzania. Group D is undoubtedly the proverbial group of death with three former champions Morocco, Ivory Coast and South Africa attempting to progress at the expense of Namibia. 

The 2004 AFCON winners Tunisia are set to do battle against Mali, Mauritania and Angola in Group E. Defending champions Cameroon will contest Group F alongside four-time winners Ghana, Republic of Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
Group E
Group F
DR CongoGuineaAlgeriaIvory CoastMaliGhana
UgandaMadagascarKenyaSouth AfricaMauritaniaRepublic of Benin

egypt football team
Hosts Egypt are in Group A and fancied to progress to the knockout rounds (Getty Images)

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Cup Match Schedule & Fixtures

Hosts Egypt will contest the first match against Zimbabwe at the Cairo International Stadium on 12 June. There will be 52 matches played at the tournament with the final held at the Cairo International Stadium on 19 July. All times are local, CAT (UTC+2).

Time (CAT)
21 June 201922:00EgyptZimbabwe Cairo International StadiumCairoGroup A
22 June 2019 16:30Congo DRUgandaCairo International Stadium CairoGroup A
22 June 2019 19:00NigeriaBurundi Alexandria StadiumAlexandria Group B
22 June 2019 22:00GuineaMadagascarAlexandria Stadium AlexandriaGroup B
23 June 2019 16:30MoroccoNamibia Al Salam StadiumCairoGroup D
23 June 2019 19:00 SenegalTanzania 30 June StadiumCairoGroup C
23 June 2019 22:00 AlgeriaKenya30 June Stadium CairoGroup C
24 June 2019 16:30 Ivory CoastSouth AfricaAl Salam Stadium CairoGroup D
24 June 2019 19:00 TunisiaAngola Suez StadiumSuezGroup E
24 June 2019 22:00 MaliMauritaniaSuez Stadium SuezGroup E
25 June 2019 19:00 CameroonGuinea-Bissau Ismailia StadiumIsmailiaGroup F
25 June 2019 22:00 GhanaBeninIsmailia Stadium IsmailiaGroup F
26 June 2019 16:30 NigeriaGuinea Alexandria Stadium AlexandriaGroup B
26 June 2019 19:00 UgandaZimbabweCairo International Stadium CairoGroup A
26 June 2019 22:00 EgyptCongo DRCairo International Stadium CairoGroup A
27 June 2019 16:30 MadagascarBurundi Alexandria StadiumAlexandria Group B
27 June 2019 19:00 SenegalAlgeria30 June Stadium CairoGroup C
27 June 2019 22:00 KenyaTanzania30 June Stadium CairoGroup C
28 June 2019 16:30 TunisiaMali Suez StadiumSuez Group E
28 June 2019 19:00 MoroccoIvory Coast Al Salam StadiumCairoGroup D
28 June 2019 22:00 South AfricaNamibia Al Salam StadiumCairoGroup D
29 June 2019 16:30 MauritaniaAngola Suez StadiumSuezGroup E
29 June 2019 19:00 CameroonGhana Ismailia StadiumIsmailia Group F
29 June 2019 22:00 BeninGuinea-Bissau Ismailia StadiumIsmailia Group F
30 June 2019 18:00MadagascarNigeria Alexandria StadiumAlexandria Group B
30 June 2019 18:00 BurundiGuinea Al Salam StadiumCairoGroup B
30 June 2019 21:00UgandaEgypt Cairo International StadiumCairo Group A
30 June 2019 21:00ZimbabweCongo DR 30 June StadiumCairo Group A
1 July 201918:00 South AfricaMorocco Al Salam StadiumCairoGroup D
1 July 2019 18:00 NamibiaIvory Coast 30 June StadiumCairoGroup D
1 July 2019 21:00 KenyaSenegal 30 June StadiumCairoGroup C
1 July 2019 21:00 TanzaniaAlgeria Al Salam StadiumCairoGroup C
2 July 2019 18:00 BeninCameroon Ismailia StadiumIsmailia Group F
2 July 2019 18:00 Guinea-BissauGhana Suez StadiumSuez Group F
2 July 2019 21:00 MauritaniaTunisia Suez StadiumSuezGroup E
2 July 2019 21:00 AngolaMali Ismailia StadiumIsmailiaGroup E
5 July 2019 18:00Winner Group D3rd Group B/E/FAl Salam Stadium CairoRound of 16
5 July 2019 21:00Runner-up Group ARunner-up Group CCairo International Stadium CairoRound of 16
6 July 2019 19:00Runner-up Group B Runner-up Group F Alexandria Stadium Alexandria Round of 16
6 July 2019 21:00Winner Group A 3rd Group C/D/E Cairo International Stadium CairoRound of 16
7 July 2019 18:00 Winner Group B 3rd Group A/C/DAlexandria Stadium Alexandria Round of 16
7 July 2019 21:00 Winner Group C 3rd Group A/B/F30 June Stadium CairoRound of 16
8 July 2019 19:00 Winner Group E Runner-up Group D Suez Stadium Suez Round of 16
8 July 2019 21:00 Winner Group F Runner-up Group E Ismailia Stadium Ismailia Round of 16
10 July 2019 19:00 Winner R16 2Winner R16 130 June Stadium CairoQuarter Final
10 July 2019 21:00 Winner R16 3Winner R16 4Cairo International Stadium CairoQuarter Final
11 July 2019 19:00 Winner R16 7Winner R16 6Al Salam Stadium CairoQuarter Final
11 July 2019 21:00 Winner R16 5Winner R16 8Suez Stadium SuezQuarter Final
14 July 2019 18:00Winner QF 1Winner QF 430 June Stadium CairoSemi Final
14 July 2019 21:00 Winner QF 3Winner QF 2Cairo International Stadium CairoSemi Final
17 July 2019 21:00 Loser SF 1Loser SF 2Al Salam Stadium CairoThird Place Playoff
19 July 2019 21:00 Winner SF 1Winner SF 2Cairo International Stadium CairoFinal

Freetips staff 18 April 2019

Upcoming Events

27 April 2019

15 February 2020

11 March 2020

  • Cheltenham Festival 2020
  • -
  • Horse Racing

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Previews & Tips