Brazilian Serie A Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

Brazilian Serie A

The Campeonato Brasileiro Série A, commonly referred as the Brasileirão, is the primary competition in Brazilian professional football. Due to the size of Brazil and previous difficulties with transport, the history of the Brasileirão is relatively short.

The first national tournament began in 1959 as the Taça Brasil. In 1967 the Torneio Rio-São Paulo was expanded to include teams from other Brazilian states, becoming known as the Torneio Roberto Gomes Pedrosa which was also considered a national tournament. 

The first Campeonato Brasileiro competition was held in 1989, with the Taça Brasil and Torneio Roberto Gomes Pedrosa unified in the Brazilian championship history in 2010. 

The Brasileirão is one of the world's richest championships, ranked as the sixth most valuable with a worth over US$1.43 billion, generating an annual turnover of over US$1.17 billion in 2012. It is also the most-watched football league in the Americas.

The Brasileirão is contested by 20 clubs and played between May to December with each club playing the other home and away. The Brasileirão operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Campeonato Brasileiro Série B. 

Since 2016, the top six Brasileirão clubs qualify for the Copa Libertadores. The top four clubs directly enter the group stage while the fifth and sixth-placed clubs enter the Libertadores at the second round.

Clubs from seventh to twelfth place qualify for the Copa Sudamericana. The bottom four teams are relegated to the Campeonato Brasileiro Série B and replaced by the top four teams from that division.

Some of the best players in world football plied their trade in in Brazil such as Pelé, Zico, Romário, Zico, Garrincha, Romário, Roberto Carlos, Ronaldo, Kaká, Rivaldo, Cafu, Sócrates, Jairzinho, Ronaldinho and Neymar. Many Brazilian players moved to Europe to become global superstars, not to mention the Brazil national team appearing at every World Cup and winning five titles.

Clubs from the state of São Paulo have traditionally dominated football in Brazil winning 31 titles. Clubs from the state of Rio de Janeiro are next best with 15 titles between them.

Palmeiras have been croenwed Brazilian football champions more than any other club with nine titles. Santos are next best with eight, Corinthians seven with São Paulo and Flamengo with six each. Corinthians are the defending champions after winnint the 2017 Brasileirão ahead of Palmeiras and Santos. 

Recent  Brasileirão Champions and Runners-Up


Atletico Mineiro
2014CruzeiroSao Paulo
2012FluminenseAtletico Mineiro
Vasco da Gama
2008Sao PauloGremio

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips