CONCACAF Champions League Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N

CONCACAF Champions League

The CONCACAF Champions League is a continental club football competition organised by the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

Originally known as the CONCACAF Champions Cup, the tournament began in 1962 as a way to enter the South American Copa Libertadores. The tournament has been known as the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League since February 2015 due to sponsorship reasons.

The competition has undergone different formats from its inception. Unlike many football competitions that have a group stage, the CONCACAF Champions League is purely a 16 team knockout competition. 

The format previously had a group stage and knockout rounds but was changed to the current format prior to the 2018 tournament.

There competition has been won by 28 different clubs, with Mexican clubs traditionally dominating. Mexican clubs have won 34 of the 52 CONCACAF Champions League’s thus far, including the last 13 titles.

Mexican side Club América are the most successful club with seven titles, followed by fellow Mexican clubs Cruz Azul with six titles and Pachuca with five. 

The current champions are Guadalajara who defeated Toronto FC in the 2018 finals in a penalty shootout. The title holders don't automatically qualify for the following tournament and Guadalajara will be unable to defend their title after failing to qualify for the 2019 CONCACAF Champions League.

The CONCACAF Champions League is played between February and May, with each round settled by a two-leg home and away tie. 15 teams automatically qualify based on domestic performances and one additional team from qualifies by winning the CONCACAF League.

The 15 clubs that automatically qualify include four from Mexico and the United States, with one club from Canada, the Caribbean Zone, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama included.

A total of 16 teams will participate in the 2019 CONCACAF Champions League including nine teams from the North American Zone, five teams from the Central American Zone, one team from the Caribbean Zone and the winners of the CONCACAF League.

The following teams have already secured qualification with four spots still up for grabs; Monterrey, UANL, Santos Laguna, Toronto FC, Sporting Kansas City, Toluca, Independiente, Saprissa, Marathón, Guastatoya, Alianza and Atlético Pantoja.

The 2019 CONCACAF Champions League draw will occur in December 2018.

Recent CONCACAF Champions League Winners & Runners-Up


2018GuadalajaraToronto FC
2016-17PachucaTigres UANL
2015-16Club AmericaTigres UANL
2014-15Club AmericaMontreal Impact
2013-14Cruz AzulToluca
2012-13MonterreySantos Laguna
2011-12MonterreySantos Laguna
2010-11MonterreyReal Salt Lake
2009-10PachucaCruz Azul
2008-09AtlanteCruz Azul

Our CONCACAF Champions League football tips include match winner, First Goalscorer and CONCACAF Champions League Outright / Futures Tips such as tournament winner.

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips