Copa América Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

Copa América

The Copa América is an international football tournament between national teams from the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL).

The competition began in Argentina in 1916 as the South American Football Championship between Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Uruguay. The tournament marked the founding of CONMEBOL which included the football associations of those four nations.

The remaining South American football associations joined in the following years, the last being Venezuela in 1952. The tournament was rebranded as the Copa América in 1975 and is the oldest international continental football competition.

Mexico has participated in every Copa América since 1993 when the tournament began featuring 12 teams. Those teams compromised all 10 CONMEBOL nations and two teams from other confederations. 

The 2016 competition celebrated 100 years since the tournament’s inception. Called the Copa América Centenario, it featured 16 teams with the 10 CONMEBOL nations joined by Mexico, United States, Costa Rica, Panama, Jamaica and Haiti.

The United States hosted the 2016 edition, becoming the only non-CONMEBOL country to host the tournament. The 2019 Copa América will be hosted by Brazil with Japan and Qatar invited to attend.

There have been 45 tournaments held since 2016, eight of the ten CONMEBOL nations winning at least once with only Ecuador and Venezuela yet to win. 

The right to host the Copa América has been done by a rotation policy since 1984, with host countries rotating in alphabetical order. The first rotation was completed in 2007 with Venezuela hosting the tournament.

Uruguay has won the most Copa América’s with 15 titles, Argentina close behind winning the tournament 14 times. Brazil are surprisingly third on the list with eight victories, well ahead of Chile with two.

Chile are the defending champions having won on home soil in 2015 and backing it up the next year with victory in the Copa América Centenario. On both occasions they defeated Argentina on penalties following two goalless draws after extra time.

The 2019 Copa America will take place in Brazil between 12 countries in six different cities. The tournament takes place between June 14 and July 7 and includes 10 South American countries and two teams invited from Asia. The participating teams are Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Japan and Qatar.

Sao Paulo's Estadio Morumbi will host the opening match and the final will be played at the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro. The other cities to host 2019 Copa America matches are Belo Horizonte, Porto Alegre and Salvador.

Recent Copa América Winners, Runners-Up & Host Nation

Host Nation

2016ChileArgentinaUnited States
2015ChileArgentinaUnited States

Here at we will provide regular Copa América football tips during the tournament such as Copa América Win/Draw/Win Tips (Match Bet), Copa América Both Teams To Score (BTTS) Tips and Copa América Outright / Futures Bet including 2019 Copa América winner. 

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips