EFL Cup Predictions & Tips

1 Showlhs N

EFL Cup Betting Tips

Get the best EFL Cup betting tips including competition winner and individual match markets including full time result, total goals and BTTS.

The EFL Cup is an annual knockout competition in English football. It is organised by the English Football League (EFL) and is open to all 92 clubs in the top four levels of English football including the Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two.

The competition was first held in 1960-61 and is one of three domestic football competitions in England alongside the Premier League and FA Cup. The EFL Cup is also known as the League Cup, English League Cup and the Carabao Cup.

Bonus Bets

  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration required. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Free Bet Refund
    Join betgoodwin with promo code NEWBONUS and get access to their £100 Free Bet Refunds offer. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    New UK customers (Excluding NI) only. Mobile exclusive. Min Deposit £10. Min stake £10. Min odds Evs. Free bet applied on 1st settlement of any qualifying bet. 30 days to qualify. Free bets expire in 7 days. Cashed out/Free Bets won’t apply. Account & Payment method restrictions apply. 1 Free Bet offer per customer, household & IP Address only. 18+. T&Cs apply. **18+. Online Only. Get paid out as a winner if your team is winning by 2 goals, even if you draw or lose. 90 mins only. Applies to Singles & Multiples. T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    Double the Odds
    New customers. Max £10 (excluding PayPal). 100% odds boost token. T&Cs apply.
  • Get
    £35 + 10
    Coupon Code
    If your account has Sportsbook losses at the end of your first day's betting, QuinnBet will refund 50% of your losses as a Free Bet up to £35 (min 3 bets) Plus 10 Free online casino spins at QuinnCasino. Even if your account is up, you're guaranteed a £5 Free Bet Plus 10 Free Spins provided you place at least 1 bet of £10 or greater at the minimum odds. T&Cs apply | 18+ New UK Customers Only | begambleaware.org

Betting on the EFL Cup

Betting on the EFL Cup is similar to the FA Cup where plenty of upsets, or ‘giant killings’ can happen, especially in the early rounds. Clubs in the lower divisions often defeat well established Premier League clubs. 

Manchester United have been eliminated by lower league clubs on numerous occasions. In 1995-96 the Red Devils were beaten 3-0 at home by York City in the second round before going out 4-3 on aggregate.

Man United were knocked out by Southend United in 2006-07 and Coventry City in 2007-08. In 2014-15, United lost 4-0 in the second round against third-tier club MK Dons.

One of the reasons for big upsets in the EFL Cup is many top clubs concentrating on other competitions. Some Premier League managers rest their top players in the competition and play their fringe players.

Live Streaming

Watch the EFL Cup online with live streaming. One of the best football live streaming services is bet365 where you can switch between betting markets and live action.

Check out our EFL Cup live streaming guide to see how to watch all the matches.

Football Predictions & Tips


How many teams play in the EFL Cup?

There are 92 teams that play in the EFL Cup, all clubs in the top four levels of English football including the Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two.

When is the 2020/21 EFL Cup being played?

The 2020/21 EFL Cup is being played from 29 August 2020 to 25 April 2021.

Where is the 2020/21 EFL Cup final?

The 2020/21 EFL Cup final is being played at Wembley Stadium in London.

When is the 2020/21 EFL Cup final?

The 2020/21 EFL Cup final is being played on 25 April 2021.