European Super League

1 Showlhs N
The European Super League is a proposed new competition set up by some of Europe's biggest clubs as an alternative to the UEFA Champions League.

Barcelona, Real Madrid, Juventus, Manchester United and Liverpool are among 12 clubs to have formed a joint-venture and created new ESL.

The clubs will break away from the Champions League and compete against one another in a European Super League featuring 20 teams in total - 15 of which will be guaranteed their spot.

European Super League Teams

In revealing the launch of the ESL, 12 clubs have signed up for the European Super League. A total of 15 founding members are expected, with five places then awarded season by season.

The current 12 teams are: 

  • Arsenal
  • Chelsea
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Tottenham
  • AC Milan
  • Inter Milan
  • Juventus
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Barcelona
  • Real Madrid

Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund and Paris Saint-Germain are said to have turned down the chance to join the league.

Each of the 15 founding members would get around £350 million for each season.

European Super League Format

The league will be made up of 20 clubs each season, playing in two groups of 10.

The formation of the 20 clubs would come from the founding 15 members, who would not be eligible for relegation from the league, along with five other teams qualifying each season.

The top three teams would advance to the finals with the fourth and fifth placed teams playing off for a place in the quarter-finals.

The quarter-finals and semi-finals would be two-legged matches with the final being a one-off decider.