FA Community Shield Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

FA Community Shield

The Football Association Community Shield (formerly known as the Charity Shield) is an annual football match contested at Wembley Stadium between the champions of the previous Premier League season and the holders of the FA Cup . 

If the Premier League champions also emerged the FA Cup winners then the league runners-up will step in. The fixture is recognised as a competitive super cup by the Football Association.

Organised by the FA, proceeds from the game are distributed to community-based initiatives and charities around the country. Revenue from the gate receipts and match programme sales is distributed to the 124 clubs who competed in The FA Cup from the First Round onwards, while the remainder is distributed to the FA's national charity partners. 

The competition format has varied over the years, with the 1913 edition contested between Amateurs and Professionals, while in 1921 the Shield was contested between the Football League and FA Cup winners for the first time. 

The format continued to vary in the 1920s, usually along the lines of Amateurs against Professionals. However, in 1930, the format between the Football League winner and FA Cup winner returned, and with a few exceptions, this format has remained to the present day. 

The match was moved to the start of the season from 1959. And In 1974 the then FA secretary, Ted Croker, created the current format with the match being played at Wembley Stadium, and being contested by the reigning League and FA Cup holders.

With the formation of a new top league, the FA Premier League, the Shield became a showcase match between the Premier League and FA Cup winners from 1993.

In 2002, the Charity Commission found that the Football Association failed to meet its legal obligations under charity law, by failing to specify what money from ticket sales went to charity and delaying payments to the charities nominated. As a result, the competition was renamed the Community Shield. 

Arsenal were the first winners of the renamed Community Shield with a 1–0 victory over Liverpool. They are also the current holders after defeating Chelsea in 2017.

Recent FA Community Shield Winners & Runners-Up

2016Manchester UnitedLeicester City
Manchester City
2013Manchester United
Wigan Athletic
2012Manchester City
2011Manchester United
Manchester City
2010Manchester United
2009ChelseaManchester United
2008Manchester United

Here at FreeTips.com we provide regular FA Community Shield football tips which include our best bet, over/under tips, first goalscorer tips, both teams to score (BTTS) tips and FA Community Shield winner tips.

Our mission at FreeTips.com is to provide you with expertly researched FA Community Shield tips that you can use to build your bankroll.

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

Load More