DFB-Pokal Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N

DFB-Pokal Tips

The DFB-Pokal or German Cup is the national knockout football cup competition in Germany. The DFB-Pokal is run by the German Football Association (DFB) and has been in existence since 1935.

Originally called the Tschammer-Pokal, the competition was suspended in 1944 and abandoned soon after World War II. Reinstated in 1952–53 as the DFB-Pokal, the German Cup is considered the second-most important club title in German football after the Bundesliga. 

The DFB-Pokal features 64 teams with every team in the German football league system entitled to participate. All Bundesliga and 2. Bundesliga clubs qualify alongside the top four 3. Liga clubs. 

The remaining positions are given to the regional cup winners and three regional associations with the most men's teams. The DFB-Pokal final has been played at Berlin’s Olympic Stadium since 1985.

Bayern Munich are the most successful club with 19 DFB-Pokal titles. Werder Bremen are next best with six titles, Schalke winning five. Fortuna Düsseldorf hold the record for consecutive wins with 18 straight victories between 1978 and 1981, lifting the trophy in 1979 and 1980.

The DFB-Pokal winner qualifies for the DFL-Supercup and the UEFA Europa League unless the winner already qualified for the UEFA Champions League through their Bundesliga position.

Eintracht Frankfurt are the defending champions after defeating Bayern Munich 3-1 in 2018. 

Recent DFB-Pokal Winners and Runners-Up and Score


2017-18Eintracht FrankfurtBayern Munich3-1
Borussia Dortmund
Eintracht Frankfurt
2015-16Bayern MunichBorussia Dortmund
0-0 (4-3p)
2014-15VfL WolfsburgBorussia Dortmund
2013-14Bayern Munich
Borussia Dortmund
2-0 (aet)
2012-13Bayern Munich
VfB Stuttgart3-2
2011-12Borussia Dortmund
Bayern Munich
2010-11Schalke 04MSV Duisburg5-0
2009-10Bayern Munich
Werder Bremen4-0
2008-09Werder BremenBayer Leverkusen1-0
2007-08Bayern Munich
Borussia Dortmund
2-1 (aet)

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips