German Super Cup Preview, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N
The German Super Cup or DFL-Supercup is an annual football match in Germany contested by the winners of the Bundesliga and the DFB-Pokal or German Cup. The DFL-Supercup is organised by the Deutsche Fußball Liga or German Football League.

The competition was founded in 1987 as the DFB Super Cup and run by the Deutscher Fußball-Bund or German Football Association. Bayern Munich defeated Hamburger SV 2-1 at the Waldstadion in Frankfurt to win the first edition.

In 1997 the competition was known as the DFB-Ligapokal before being called the T-Home Supercup in 2008 when Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich took on DFB-Pokal finalists Borussia Dortmund. 

The Supercup returned in 2010 and was called the DFL-Supercup due to it being organised by the Deutsche Fußball Liga. Since 2010, if one team wins the domestic Bundesliga and DFB-Pokal double, then the Bundesliga runners-up qualify to play the league champions.

Since 2011 the venue for the German Super Cup has been the home stadium of the club that won the DFB-Pokal. No extra time is played in the case of a draw after 90 minutes, the match is then decided by a penalty shoot-out.

Bayern Munich have won the most German Super Cup’s with seven in total and Borussia Dortmund next best having won the competition five times. Werder Bremen are next best with three with four clubs winning one German Super Cup: 1. FC Kaiserslautern, Schalke 04, VfB Stuttgart and VfL Wolfsburg.

The top goalscorer in German Super Cup history is Robert Lewandowski who has scored five goals playing for Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich. New Zealand striker Wynton Rufer scored four goals for Werder Bremen with three players having scored three German Super Cup goals: Thomas Müller, Arjen Robben and Jürgen Wegmann.

The current champions are Bayern Munich who defeated Eintracht Frankfurt 5-0 Commerzbank-Arena in Frankfurt in 12 August 2018. It was the third consecutive and seventh overall title for FC Bayern with a Robert Lewandowski hat-trick and goals to Kingsley Coman and Thiago Ancantara.

The 2019 German Super Cup will be played between the Bundesliga winners and winners of the German Cup unless one club wins both competitions, in which case the Bundesliga winners will play the Bundesliga runners-up.

Recent German Super Cup Winners and Runners-Up

Bayern MunichEintracht Frankfurt
2017Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2016Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2015Bayern Munich VfL Wolfsburg
2014Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2013Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2012Borussia DortmundBayern Munich
2011Borussia DortmundSchalke 04
2010Bayern Munich Schalke 04

Football Previews, Predictions and Betting Tips