Portuguese Cup Preview, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N

What is the Portuguese Cup?

The Portuguese Cup or ‘Taça de Portugal’ is an annual knockout football tournament in Portugal, organised by the Portuguese Football Federation (Federação Portuguesa de Futebol or FPF).

Professional and amateur clubs from the top-four league divisions can compete with the winners qualifying for the Portuguese Super Cup and the UEFA Europa League.

Portuguese Cup History

The history of the Portuguese Cup dates back to 1912 but it wasn’t a regular competition and featured a minimal amount of clubs. The Championship of Portugal (Campeonato de Portugal) was created in 1922 with the regional championship winners competing to be crowned Champions of Portugal.

The Taça de Portugal (Portuguese Cup) was officially created in the 1938-39 season in conjunction with the establishment of the Primeira Liga. It rapidly became the second-most important football competition in Portugal after the Portuguese Championship.

Portuguese Cup Format

All the teams in the Primeira Liga, Segunda Liga (excluding the B teams), Campeonato Nacional de Seniores (excluding reserve teams), 22 District Championships runners-up and by 18 District Cups winners are eligible to compete in the Portuguese Cup.

Matches are played from August-September to May-June, similar to the Primeira Liga. The Taça de Portugal final is traditionally held at the Estádio Nacional in Jamor, Lisbon.

Which club has won the most Portuguese Cups?

Benfica are the most successful team in Taça de Portugal history with 26 trophies. FC Porto and Sporting CP have both won 16 Portuguese Cups with Boavista next best with five.
Vitoria de Setubal and Belenenses have won three time each with Braga and Academica winning twice. Vitória de Guimarães, Leixões, Beira-Mar, Estrela da Amadora and Desportivo das Aves have all won once.

Who are the current Portuguese Cup champions?

Desportivo das Aves are the current holders of the Portuguese Cup after defeating Sporting CP 2–1 in the 2018 final. It was a big upset with Sporting short priced favourites. Alexandre Guedes scored twice to put Aves 2-0 up, Fredy Montero’s consolation goal in the 85th minute too little too late.

Recent Portuguese Cup Winners, Score & Runners-Up


2017-18 Desportivo das Aves2-1Sporting CP
2016-17Benfica2-1Vitoria de Guimaraes
2015-16Braga2-2 (4-2 p)Porto
2014-15Sporting CP2-2 (3-1 p)Braga
2013-14Benfica1-0Rio Ave
2012-13Vitoria de Guimaraes2-1Benfica
2011-12Academica1-0Sporting CP
2010-11Porto6-2Vitoria de Guimaraes
2008-09Porto1-0Pacos de Ferreira

Football Previews, Predictions and Betting Tips