Russian Premier League Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

Russian Premier League Tips

The Russian Premier League is the top football division in Russia. The competition has origins in the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991, starting as the Russian Top Division in 1992 with 20 teams before being reduced to a 16 team competition in 1998.

The 16 teams play each other home and away with the team scoring the most points crowned champions. The bottom two teams are relegated to the second division, called the Russian Football National League. The 13th and 14th placed teams enter a play-off with the 3rd and 4th placed teams in the Russian Football National League to decide which teams will play in the Premier League the following season.

Spartak Moscow were dominant in the first decade of the Top Division winning nine of the first ten titles. Lokomotiv Moscow and CSKA Moscow started to take over from 2002 before Zenit Saint Petersburg and Rubin Kazan emerged as the dominant clubs.

Spartak are current champions and the most successful club after finally winning their tenth title in 2017. CSKA are next best with four titles and Zenit have won on four occasions.

The top two teams go straight into the UEFA Champions League group stage, with the third placed team entering the Champions League third qualifying round. The fourth placed team qualifies for the UEFA Europa League group stage, with the fifth and sixth placed teams entering the UEFA Europa League qualifying rounds.

Recent Russian Premier League Winners and Runners-Up


2017-18Lokomotiv MoscowCSKA Moscow
Spartak Moscow
CSKA Moscow
2015-16CSKA MoscowRostov
2014-15Zenit Saint PetersburgCSKA Moscow
2013-14CSKA Moscow
Zenit Saint Petersburg
2012-13CSKA Moscow
Zenit Saint Petersburg
2011-12Zenit Saint Petersburg
Spartak Moscow
2010Zenit Saint Petersburg
CSKA Moscow
2009Rubin ZazanSpartak Moscow
2008Rubin KazanCSKA Moscow
2007Zenit Saint Petersburg
Spartak Moscow

Russian Premier League Tips can be found here including Russian Premier League Both Teams to Score (BTTS) Tips and Russian Premier League Anytime Goalscorer Tips. 

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

Load More
Bonus Bets
More bonus bets
See all reviews