Scottish FA Cup Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N

Scottish FA Cup

The Scottish FA Cup is an annual knock-out cup competition for men's football clubs in Scotland. Entry is open to all clubs with full or associate membership of the Scottish Football Association (SFA).

The competition was first held in 1873–74 and is the second oldest competition in football history after the English FA Cup. The tournament starts at the beginning of the Scottish football season, with participating teams entering the tournament at different stages depending on their league ranking.

The lowest ranked clubs enter the tournament at the first round whilst the highest ranked, those that compete in the Scottish Premiership, entering at the fourth-round stage. The final is usually the last game of the season and takes place in May. 

The Scottish Cup is a knock-out competition with teams paired at random in each round. The winner of each match advances to the next round with the loser eliminated from the competition.

If a match ends in a draw, the fixture is replayed at the home ground of the away team at a later date.  If the replay also ends in a draw, 30 minutes of extra time is played followed by a penalty shoot-out.

In the semi-final and final rounds, if the match ends in a draw there is no replay; the winner is decided either in extra time or by a penalty shoot-out.

As Scotland is a member of the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), the winner of the Scottish Cup qualifies to compete in the UEFA Europa League the following season.

Celtic have won the tournament a record 38 times with their Old Firm rivals Rangers winning 33 Scottish Cups. Celtic are the defending champions after defeating Motherwell 2-0 in the 2018 final.

Recent Scottish FA Cup Winners & Runners-Up


2014-15Inverness Caledonian ThistleFalkirk
2013-14St. JohnstoneDundee United
2011-12Heart of MidlothianHibernian
2009-10Dundee UnitedRoss County

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips