South Africa Cup Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N

South Africa Cup Football Tips

The South Africa Cup (currently known as the Nedbank Cup) is South Africa's main club football knockout tournament. The tournament began in 1971 and has undergone many name changes due to sponsorship arrangements. 

32 teams contest the South Africa Cup compromising all 16 Premier Soccer League clubs, eight National First Division teams and eight teams from the amateur ranks. The amateur teams have to survive a series of qualifiers to make the main draw.

The format is based on most domestic cup tournaments, where lower league and amateur teams are given the chance to compete with the best clubs in the country. The winner qualifies for the CAF Confederation Cup the following season. 

Kaizer Chiefs are the most successful team in the South Africa Cup with 13 titles. Orlando Pirates are second with eight titles, Moroko Swallows and Supersport United next best with five each.

Free State Stars are the defending South Africa Cup champions after beating Maritzburg United 1-0 in the 2017-18 final. 

Recent South Africa Cup Winners and Runners-Up


2017-18Free State StarsMaritzburg United
2016-17SuperSport UnitedOrlando Pirates
2015-16Supersport United
Orlando Pirates
2014-15Mamelodi Sundowns
Ajax Cape Town
2013-14Orlando Pirates
Bidvest Wits
2012-13Kaizer ChiefsSupersport United
2011-12Supersport United
Mamelodi Sundowns
2010-11Orlando Pirates
Black Leopards
2009-10Bidvest WitsAmaZulu
2008-09Moroka SwallowsPretoria University
2008Mamelodi SundownsMpumalanga Black Aces

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips