Spanish Super Cup Preview, Predictions & Betting Tips

1 Showlhs N
The Spanish Super Cup or Supercopa de España is an annual Spanish football championship contested by the current La Liga champions and Copa del Rey winners. 

The history of the competition can be traced back to 1940 when it was known as the Copa de Campeones de España. It was known as the Copa Presidente FEF in 1941, but wasn’t played again until 1945 when it was briefly known as the Copa de Oro Argentina due to the positive relations between the Ambassador of Argentina and the Spanish military government.

In 1947 the Spanish Super Cup was called the Copa Eva Duarte de Perón as a tribute to the President of Argentina Juan Perón and his wife Eva. The Copa Eva Duarte was played for seven years and was won between 1947 and 1951 by Real Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, Athletic Bilbao and Atletico Madrid.

The 1952 and 1953 competitions were automatically awarded to Barcelona, who won both the La Liga and Copa del Generalisimo which is now known as the Copa del Rey. The rules have changed since, with the Copa del Rey runners up playing against the La Liga Champions of a team wins both La Liga and the Copa del Rey.

The current competition has been in existence since 1982 and was a two legged affair until 2018 when the Supercopa was played as a single match hosted at a neutral venue.

Barcelona have won the most Spanish Super Cups with 13 titles and their rivals Real Madrid winning 10 time. The next best are Deportivo La Coruna who won three Spanish Super Cups in 1995, 2000 and 2002. Atletico Madrid and Athletic Bilbao have won twice each.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi is the top scorer in Spanish Super Cup history (Getty Images)

Lionel Messi has scored the most goals in Supercopa de España history with 13 goals scored in 18 appearances. Messi has scored in seven different editions of the tournament and scored in four consecutive tournaments between 2009 and 2012, both records. 

The Argentine wizard is also the top assist provider in Spanish Super Cup history with five goals assisted. Real Madrid legend Raúl is next best top scorer behind Lionel Messi with seven goals and Barcelona’s Bulgarian striker Hristo Stoichkov scored six in the 1990’s.

Txiki Begiristain scored six goals for Real Sociedad, Barcelona and Deportivo La Coruña with Sevilla’s Frédéric Kanouté scoring five. Cristiano Ronaldo managed to score four Spanish Super Cup goals, tied with Aritz Aduriz, José Mari Bakero and Xavi.

The 2018 Supercopa de Espana was the 32nd edition of the competition featuring the 2017-18 La Liga champions Barcelona and the Copa del Rey runners-up Sevilla, as Barcelona also won the 2017-18 Copa del Rey.

It was the first Spanish Super Cup to be decided by a single match and hosted at a neutral venue. The 2018 Spanish Super Cup was held on 12 August at the Stade Ibn Batouta in Tangier, Morocco. Pablo Sarabia put Sevilla ahead in the 9th minute, but goals to Gerard Piqué and Ousmane Dembélé gave Barcelona the win in front of 40,000 spectators.

The date and venue for the 2019 Spanish Super Cup is yet to be decided.

Recent Spanish Super Cup Winners & Runners-Up

2017Real MadridBarcelona
2015Athletic BilbaoBarcelona
2014Atletico MadridReal Madrid
2013Barcelona Atletico Madrid
2012Real Madrid Barcelona
2011BarcelonaReal Madrid
2009BarcelonaAthletic Bilbao
2008Real Madrid Valencia

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips