• Home
  • Football
  • UEFA European Championship

UEFA Euro Winners List - Spain and Germany on top at the UEFA European Championships

  • Spain and Germany have both won 3 UEFA Euro titles
  • France and Italy have won two UEFA European Championships
  • Portugal, Greece, Denmark, Netherlands, Czech Republic & Soviet Union have all won once
  • Italy are the defending champions after beating England in the 2020 final
italy england euro 2020 trophy
Italy beat England in the Euro 2020 final (Getty Images)
John Eastwood 21 Sep 2021
Share this article
success image

UEFA Euro Winners

Spain and Germany have both won three UEFA European Championships. France and Italy have won twice with Portugal, Greece, Denmark, Netherlands, Czech Republic & Soviet Union have all winning once.

The first UEFA European Championships was held in 1960 in France with Soviet Union beating Yugoslavia 2-1 in extra time in the final.

Italy are the defending champions after beating England in a penalty shootout in the 2020 final at Wembley Stadium in London.

Final Score
2028 tbc tbc tbc tbc 24/32
2024 Germany tbc tbc tbc 24
2020 Europe Italy 1-1 (3-2 p) England 24
2016 France Portugal 1-0 (aet) France 24
2012 Poland/Ukraine Spain 4-0 Italy 16
2008 Austria/Switzerland Spain 1-0 Germany 16
2004 Portugal Greece 1-0 Portugal 16
2000 Belgium/Netherlands France 2-1 (gg) Italy 16
1996 England Germany 2-1 (gg) Czech Republic 16
1992 Sweden Denmark 2-0 Germany 8
1988 West Germany Netherlands 2-0 Soviet Union 8
1984 France France 2-0 Spain 8
1980 Italy West Germany 2-1 Belgium 8
1976 Yugoslavia Czechoslovakia 2-2 (5-3 p) West Germany 4
1972 Belgium West Germany 3-0 Soviet Union 4
1968 Italy Italy 2-0 (replay) Yugoslavia 4
1964 Spain Spain 2-1 Soviet Union 4
1960 France Soviet Union 2-1 (aet) Yugoslavia 4


Spain and Germany lead the way with three titles each. Germany have reached the final a record six times.

Spain 3 (1964, 2008, 2012) 1 (1984)
Germany 3 (1972, 1980, 1996) 3 (1976, 1992, 2008)
Italy 2 (1968, 2020) 2 (2000, 2012)
France 2 (1984, 2000) 1 (2016)
Portugal 1 (2016) 1 (2004)
Greece 1 (2004)
Denmark 1 (1992)
Netherlands 1 (1988)
Czech Republic 1 (1976) 1 (1996)
Soviet Union 1 (1960) 3 (1964, 1972, 1988)
England 1 (2020)
Belgium 1 (1980)
Yugoslavia 2 (1960, 1968)


The first tournament took place in 1960 in France. Four teams competed in the finals which was won by the Soviet Union who beat Yugoslavia 2-1 in the final in Paris.

Spain hosted UEFA Euro 1964 and won the tournament after defeating Soviet Union 2-1 in the final in Madrid. Euro 1968 was hosted and won by Italy as the tournament became more popular.

Belgium hosted the 1972 tournament where West Germany beat the USSR 3-0 in the final. UEFA Euro 1976 was held in Yugoslavia and was the last with four teams competing in the final tournament and the last in which the hosts had to qualify.

The 1976 UEFA European Championship Final saw Czechoslovakia beat West Germany in a penalty shootout. The shootout was notable for Czech player Antonín Panenka scoring with a chipped penalty, the feat know known as a Panenka in his honour.

UEFA Euro 1980 saw the competition expanded to eight teams. Hosted in Italy, Euro 1980 featured a group stage with the winners of each groups contesting the final. West Germany won their second European Championship title after beating Belgium 2-1 in the final at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

The UEFA Euro 1984 tournament was held in France, the hosts winning their first major title with captain Michel Platini scoring an incredible nine goals in five 5 games including the opening goal in the final where France beat Spain 2-0.

The format changed at Euro 1984 with the top two teams in each group progressing to the semi-finals with the third place play-off abolished.

West Germany hosted UEFA Euro 1988 where the Netherlands beat USSR 2-0 at the Olympia Stadion in Munich. Dutch striker Marco van Basten scored an incredible volley from the right wing which remains one of the most memorable goals in football history.

UEFA Euro 1992 was held in Sweden and was won by Denmark who defeated Germany 2-0 in the final. Euro 1992 was the first tournament Germany contested as a unified nation and the first major tournament to have players names printed on the back of their jerseys.

England hosted UEFA Euro 1996 which saw the tournament increased from eight to 16 teams. Germany beat the Czech Republic 2-1 in the final thanks to the first golden goal in a major tournament that was scored by Oliver Bierhoff.

UEFA Euro 2000 was co-hosted by Netherlands and Belgium, the first tournament to be held by two countries. France beat Italy 2-1 in the final after extra time,Sylvain Wiltord equalising in the final minute of regulation time before David Trezeguet scored the winner in extra time.

UEFA Euro 2004 was held in Portugal as the hosts met Greece in the final. Greece had previously qualified for one World Cup and one European Championship, but they pulled off a huge upset by beating Portugal 1-0 in the final with a goal scored by Angelos Charisteas. Greece were listed at 150/1 in the outright betting market before Euro 2004 began.

The UEFA Euro 2008 tournament was co-hosted by Austria and Switzerland. Spain defeated Germany 1-0 in the final with nine Spanish players were picked for the team of the tournament.

UEFA Euro 2012 was co-hosted by Poland and Ukraine. Spain defeated Italy 4-0 in the final and became the first nation to defend a European Championship title and the first nation to win three major international tournaments in succession after winning Euro 2008 and the 2010 World Cup.

Spain striker Fernando Torres became the first player to score in two European Championship finals. Euro 2012 saw England's Frank Lampard score a goal that was incorrectly disallowed. Replays clearly showed the ball had crossed the goal line which was the catalyst for GLT (Goal-line technology).

Euro 2016 saw the European Championship expanded from 16 to 24 teams. France hosted the tournament where they contested the final against Portugal. Portugal beat a heavily favoured France 1-0 in the final thanks to a goal from Eder in the 109th minute. Cristiano Ronaldo was forced off injured in the 25th minute as Portugal won their first major tournament.

The Euro 2020 tournament was rescheduled to 2021 due to the corona virus pandemic that brought much of the world to a standstill. 

Euro 2020 was hosted in 11 countries across Europe including Azerbaijan, Denmark, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Russia, Scotland and Spain. Italy beat England in a penalty shootout in the final which was held at Wembley Stadium in London.

UEFA Euro Winners FAQ

Who has won the most UEFA European Championships?

Spain and Germany have won the most UEFA European Championships with three titles each.

When did the UEFA European Championships start?

The UEFA European Championships began in 1960.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

19 October 2021

  • Atletico Madrid vs Liverpool Betting Specials
  • -
  • Soccer

20 October 2021

  • Man Utd vs Atalanta Betting Special
  • -
  • Soccer
  • Man Utd vs Liverpool Betting Special
  • -
  • Soccer

30 October 2021

  • Dillian Whyte vs Otto Wallin Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

31 December 2021