• Home
  • Golf
  • The Open Championship

2021 The Open Championship Schedule - All the dates and rounds

Last updated: 12 Jul 2021
Freetips staff 12 Jul 2021
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The 2021 The Open starts on Thursday 15 July
  • The tournament is being played at Royal St George's in Sandwich, England
  • The Open is the fourth major championship in 2021
  • The final round will be played on Sunday 18 July
the open championship flag
The Open Championship (Getty Images)

The 2021 The Open Championship will be played at Royal St George's in Sandwich, England, from July 15-18.

The 149th edition of the tournament will be the last of golf's four major championships to be held in 2021.

It was delayed 12 months with the 2020 Open cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Shane Lowry will be the defending champion at Royal St George's having won the 2019 Open at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

Some of the ways that players can qualify for the 2021 Open are Open Champions aged 60 or less, Open Champions from 2009-2019, first 10 places in 2019 Open Championship, first 50 players in Official World Golf Ranking, BMW PGA Championship winners from 2017-2020 and Masters winners from 2015-2021.

2021 The Open Championship Schedule

The 2021 The Open will be played from 15-18 July.

1Thursday 15 JulyRound 1
2Friday 16 JulyRound 2
3Saturday 17 JulyRound 3
4Sunday 18 JulyRound 4

2021 The Open Championship Schedule FAQs

When is the 2021 The Open being played?

The 2021 The Open is being played from 15-18 July.

When does the 2021 The Open start?

The 2021 The Open Championship starts on Thursday 15th July at Royal St George's in Sandwich, England.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers