2020 US Masters Golf Preview, Predictions & Betting Tips

What is the 2020 US Masters?

The US Masters Tournament, also known as The US Masters, is one of the four major championships in professional golf. Held annually in the first full week of April, the US Masters is the first major of the year and always held at the same location, the Augusta National Golf Club.

The 2019 US Masters will be the 84th edition of the 72-hole championship which is considered one of the best tournaments in golf. The 2019 US Masters is open to past winners and qualifying amateurs but limited in numbers unlike the US Open and Open Championship.

US Masters History

The Masters was started by amateur champion Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts. Jones attained the former plant nursery and co-designed Augusta National Golf Club with architect Alister MacKenzie.

First played in 1934, the tournament is an invitational event and features a smaller a field than the other major championships. The US Masters is an official money event on the PGA Tour, the European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour.

Since 1949, the iconic green jacket has been awarded to the US Masters champion. The green jacket is stored with other champions' jackets in a specially designated cloakroom and must be returned the following year.

Who has won the most US Masters titles?

Jack "Golden Bear" Nicklaus has won six Masters titles. His first title came in 1963 and his most recent was in 1986 when he wasn't expected to win at such an advanced age.

Arnold Palmer and Tiger Woods are next best in US Masters’ history with four wins each. Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead, Gary Player, Nick Faldo and Phil Mickelson have all won three times.

Jack Nicklaus is the record winner of the US Masters with six titles (Getty Images)

Where is the 2020 Masters being held?

The US Masters is always held at Augusta National Golf Club in Georgia, United States. One of the most iconic golf courses in the world, many of the holes are instantly recognisable and have their own names.

1Tea Olive4454
2Pink Dogwood5755
3Flowering Peach3504
4Flowering Crab Apple2403
8Yellow Jasmine5705
9Carolina Cherry4604
11White Dogwood5054
12Golden Bell1553
14Chinese Fir4404

When is the 20209 Masters?

The 2020 Masters is run from April 11 - April 14, 2020.

What players will contest the 2020 Masters?

The Masters will be contested between 90-100 players which is the smallest field of the major golf championships. There are no qualifying tournaments with the tournament purely an invitational event.

The top 50 players in the Official World Golf Ranking are all invited alongside all Masters Tournament Champions. US Open champions, Open champions and PGA champions are all eligible for five years.

Winners of the Players Championship are eligible for three years and the current Olympic Gold Medalist for one year. Eligibility is also awarded to the current U.S. Amateur champion and runner-up, current British Amateur champion, current Asia-Pacific Amateur champion, current U.S. Mid-Amateur champion and current Latin America Amateur champion.

The first 12 players, including ties, in the previous year's US Masters Tournament are eligible alongside the first 4 players, including ties, in the previous year's U.S. Open, Open Championship and PGA Championship.

The 50 leaders on the Final Official World Golf Ranking for the previous calendar year and the 50 leaders on the Official World Golf Ranking published during the week prior to the current Masters Tournament are eligible to play which means that most of the top current players will meet the criteria for invitation. 

Who were the recent US Masters Champions?

Total Score
To Par

2019Tiger WoodsUnited States

2018Patrick ReedUnited States273-15
2017Sergio GarciaSpain279-9
2016Danny WillettEngland283-5
2015Jordan SpeithUnited States270-18
2014Bubba WatsonUnited States
2013Adam ScottAustralia279-9
2012Bubba WatsonUnited States278-10
2011Charl SchwartzelSouth Africa274-14
2010Phil MickelsonUnited States272-16
2009Angel CabreraArgentina276-12
2008Trevor ImmelmanSouth Africa280-8

What happened at the 2019 US Masters?

2015 Champion Jordan Spieth birdied five consecutive holes to post -6 and take the first round lead for the third time in four years. Tony Finau finished on -4 along with Matt Kuchar. Tiger Woods was playing the US Masters for the first time in three years and ended the first round on +1.

Patrick Reed made nine birdies and three bogies in the second round to take the overall lead at −9. Australia’s Marc Leishman eagled the par-5 15th to get to -7 with Henrik Stenson two shots further back at -5. First round leader Jordan Spieth shot 74 and fell to −4 overall alongside Rory McIlroy.

Patrick Reed continued to play solid golf in the third round, recording four birdies and two eagles in a round of 67 that gave him a three-shot lead at -14. Rory McIlroy stormed back into contention with a 65 to cut Reed's lead to three.

Rickie Fowler and Jon Rahm both matched McIlroy with rounds of 65 and were five and six shots behind respectively. It was the first time in US Masters history that three players shot as low as 65 in the same round. 

In the final round Patrick Reed shot a 71 which was enough to hold off Rickie Fowler and Jordan Spieth. Fowler began five shots behind but made six birdies on his last 11 holes to get within one. Spieth began the round nine shots behind Reed, but a sensational -8 round of 64 put him in contention before his drive hit a tree on the 18th hole.

Patrick Reed of the United States won the 2018 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club (Getty Images)

Who are the favourites to win the 2020 US Masters?

Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth are the early favourites with Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas and Rory McIlroy close behind. Bookmakers also have Brooks Koepka, Justin Rose, Jon Rahm and Rickie Fowler in the top 10 betting odds.

What are the latest 2020 US Masters Betting Odds?

  • Jordan Speith - 11.00
  • Tiger Woods - 11.00
  • Rory McIlroy - 13.00
  • Dustin Johnson - 13.00
  • Justin Thomas - 13.00
  • Brooks Koepka - 15.00
  • Justin Rose - 17.00
  • Rickie Fowler - 19.00
  • Jon Rahm - 19.00
  • Jason Day - 26.00
  • Bubba Watson - 26.00
  • Bryson Dechambeau - 26.00
  • Cameron Champ - 29.00
  • Patrick Reed - 29.00
  • Hideki Matsuyama - 34.00
  • Tommy Fleetwood - 34.00
  • Tony Finau - 34.00
  • Francesco Molinari - 36.00
  • Paul Casey - 36.00
  • Sergio Garcia - 36.00

2020 US Masters Betting Tips

There are a few things to consider when selecting players in various betting markets for the 2020 US Masters. 

Firstly, defending the title at the US Masters is extremely rare. Only three players have managed to retain their title, Jack Nicklaus, Nick Faldo and Tiger Woods. Woods was the last player to go back to back with wins in 2001 and 2002.

The layout at Augusta suits golfers that can draw (curve) the ball from right to left. Many of the fairways have a natural dogleg from right to left so right-handed golfers than can draw the ball have an advantage. Big hitters also have an advantage at Augusta with many US Masters winners scoring well on the par fives.

We will have extensive betting tips for the 2020 US Masters including tournament winner, top five, top ten and make / miss the cut tips. Follow FreeTips.com for expertly researched golf tips that you can use to build your bankroll.

Golf Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips