2020 C.F. Orr Stakes Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The C.F. Orr Stakes kicks off Group 1 action for the Australian Autumn Carnival and although not the most popular race during the carnival, a quality field is always on show. 

The 1400m Caulfield feature includes sprinters, middle-distance runners and some stayers which are all looking to kick off their autumn campaigns.

Recent winners Hartnell, Black Heart Bart and Dissident are all classic examples of the middle-distance types winning. 

It’s an exciting race which Black Caviar made her own in 2012. Since then there has been a renewed interest in the C.F. Orr Stakes.

C.F. Orr Stakes Key Facts

DateSaturday February 8, 2020
Time4:45pm AEST
StatusGroup 1
Prize Money$500,000

C.F. Orr Stakes Date & Time 2020

The 2020 C.F. Orr Stakes will run at 4:45pm AEST on Saturday February 8, 2020.

2020 C.F. Orr Stakes race card

The C.F. Orr Stakes is the feature race on the nine-race card, which is a little understated but includes some quality racing. 

Punters get a look at some of the Blue Diamond hopefuls in two Blue Diamond Prelude races to kick off the card. 

Race 1: Blue Diamond Prelude 
Race 2: Blue Diamond Prelude 
Race 3: Autumn Stakes 
Race 4: Kevin Hayes Stakes 
Race 5: Bigscreencompany Handicap 
Race 6: Rubiton Stakes 
Race 7: C.F. Orr Stakes 
Race 8: Carlyon Cup 
Race 9: Bellmaine Stakes 

C.F. Orr Stakes 2020 Betting Tips

We will have 2020 C.F. Orr Stakes tips available.

2020 C.F. Orr Stakes odds

Odds for the 2020 C.F. Orr Stakes are yet to be released.

2019 C.F. Orr Stakes field

1Brave Smash
2Redkirk Warrior
3Fell Swoop
5Material Man
7Land of Plenty
8Best of Days
9Moss "N" Dale
10So Si Bon
12Mask of Time
14Fifty Stars
16Whispering Brook

2019 C.F. Orr Stakes barrier draw

1Brave Smash79.00
2Redkirk Warrior1017.00
3Fell Swoop1321.00
5Material Man626.00
7Land of Plenty115.50
8Best of Days418.00
9Moss "N" Dale1226.00
10So Si Bon1571.00
12Mask of Time5101.00
14Fifty Stars915.00
16Whispering Brook86.50

C.F. Orr Stakes past winners

The past winners of the C.F. Orr Stakes are some of Australia’s greatest-ever champions. Names such as Manikato, Vo Rogue and Flight all grace the C.F. Orr Stakes Trophy. 

In more recent times, names such as Black Caviar, Typhoon Tracy, Lonhro and Redoute’s Choice have scored a win in the famous race.  

It’s a race that kick-starts some of the best thoroughbred’s into full gear and with different form featuring on the past winners’ list, including Melbourne Cup form, it’s a race for punters to follow.

2017Black Heart Bart
2014Moment of Change
2013All Too Hard
2012Black Caviar
2011Typhoon Tracy
2010Typhoon Tracy
2007El Segundo
2006Perfect Promise
2001Desert Sky
2000Redoute’s Choice

C.F. Orr Stakes history

The weight-for-age feature at Caulfield was first run in 1925 and was named after Charles F. Orr, the former chairman of the Williamstown Racing Club, in which the race was originally run at. 

A race that attracts some of the best horses in Australia, the C.F. Orr Stakes was made a Group 1 in 1993 when Durbridge was victorious and there have been many champion names associated with the race. Vo Rogue scored three consecutive wins from 1988-1990 after Manikato had previously achieved the feat from 1979-1981. 

Melbourne Cup winners have started their campaigns in the C. F. Orr Stakes, including Saintly and Jeune, who won the 1995 Melbourne and kicked off its campaign the following season in the C.F. Orr Stakes. 

The C.F. Orr Stakes has been run at five different courses but has settled on Caulfield since 1997. Other tracks that have been used include Williamstown Racecourse, Moonee Valley, Sandown and Flemington. 

Punters continue to use the C.F. Orr Stakes as a guide to other Australian Autumn Carnival races and races later in the season, including the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup.

2019 C.F. Orr Stakes replay

The 2019 C.F. Orr Stakes was won by Manuel.