2 Showlhs N

2022 Betfair Chase Tips & Predictions

The first major Grade One of the jumps season takes place at Haydock Park in November, as some of the finest staying chasers in the sport lock horns in the Betfair Chase.

This three-mile chase forms part of Chasing's Triple Crown, and horses who perform well at Haydock will often go on to take part in the King George VI Chase at Kempton, before running in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Betfair Chase Day Card

1 Newton Novices' Hurdle (Listed) 2m
2 Handicap Chase (Class 2) 3m2f
3 Graduation Chase (Class 2) 2m6f
4 Betfair Exchange Handicap Hurdle (Class 2) 2m3f
5 Betfair Stayer's Handicap Hurdle (Grade 3) 3m
6 Betfair Chase (Grade 1) 3m2f
7 Stayers' Handicap Chase (Class 3) 3m4f

2022 Betfair Chase Odds

No odds are available for the 2022 Betfair Chase.

2021 Betfair Chase Tips

Our guide to the 2022 Betfair Chase will be published in the days leading up to the race.

2020 Betfair Chase Result

1st A Plus Tard11/10f
2nd Royale Pagaille13/2
3rd Chatham Street Lad 28/1

Betfair Chase History

Registered as the Lancashire Chase, the Betfair Chase was first staged at Haydock Park in 2005. Originally run over a trip of three miles, and extra furlong-and-a-half was added to the Betfair Chase distance in recent years, making it one of the sternest tests of stamina outside of handicap company.

The Betfair Chase is often the starting point for horses who hope to go on and win the Gold Cup at the Cheltenham Festival. 

Paul Nicholls' legendary chaser, Kauto Star won the Betfair Chase on four occasions between 2006 and 2011, while also winning the Gold Cup at Cheltenham twice in that space of time.

Colin Tizzard's star Cue Card became a fan's favourite thanks to his exploits at Haydock. Cue Card won the Betfair Chase on three occasions, while also winning the King George at Kempton and the Ryanair at Cheltenham.

Silviniaco Conti won the Betfair Chase in 2012 and '14, making Paul Nicholls the most successful trainer in the race on six victories.

Bristol De Mai became the third horse to win back-to-back Betfair Chases in 2017 and '18. Nigel Twiston-Davies' charge also recorded the most emphatic Grade One victory ever seen in Britain here in 2017, beating Cue Card by a margin of 57-lengths.

Bristol De Mai was denied in his attempt to become the horse to win th Betfair Chase three years in a row in 2019, as Colin Tizzard's Lostintranslation outstayed his rival down the long home-straight at Haydock to win by half-a-length. There was no stopping Bristol De Mai the following year, though, as Nigely Twiston-Davies' star defeated Clan Des Obeaux to win his fourth Betfair Chase.

Bristol De Mai failed to fire in the 2021 Betfair Chase, as Henry De Bromhead's Gold Cup runner-up, A Plus Tard bolted up by 22 lengths. 

Betfiar Chase Winners

2021 A Plus Tard
2020 Bristol De Mai
2019 Lostintranslation
2018 Bristol De Mai
2017 Bristol De Mai
2016 Cue Card
2015 Cue Card
2014 Silviniaco Conti
2013 Cue Card
2012 Silviniaco Conti
2011 Kauto Star
2010 Imperial Commander
2009 Kauto Star
2008 Snoopy Loopy
2007 Kauto Star
2006 Kauto Star
2005 Kingscliff