• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Betfair Chase

When is the 2022 Betfair Chase?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Betfair Chase?
  • This Grade One will be run at Haydock on Saturday 19th November 2022
betfair chase haydock
Betfair Chase. (Getty)
Freetips staff 24 Nov 2021
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Betfair Chase?

The 2022 Betfair Chase will be run at Haydock racecourse on Saturday 19th November 2022.

What is the Betfair Chase?

The Betfair Chase is one of the most important races staged during the first half of the National Hunt season. This Grade One Chase is run over a trip of 25-and-a-half-furlongs, and is used as a key trial for races like the King George VI Chase and the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Who won the Betfair Chase?

Henry De Bromhead's stunning 2021 season continued when Gold Cup runner-up, A Plus Tard hacked up in the Betfair Chase.

Which horses will run in the 2022 Betfair Chase?

A Plus Tard could return to Haydock to try and defend his Betfair Chase crown in 2021. Henry De Bromhead's champion could come up against quality rivals like Chantry House, Royale Pagaille and Ahoy Senor.

Where is the Betfair Chase run?

The Dewhurst Stakes is run at Haydock Park racecourse, on Merseyside, England.

Where can I watch the Betfair Chase?

The Betfair Chase will be shown on channels like ITV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Betfair Chase Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Betfair Chase live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Betfair Chase Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Betfair Chase History

Registered as the Lancashire Chase, the Betfair Chase was first staged at Haydock Park in 2005. Originally run over a trip of three miles, and extra furlong-and-a-half was added to the Betfair Chase distance in recent years, making it one of the sternest tests of stamina outside of handicap company.

The Betfair Chase is often the starting point for horses who hope to go on and win the Gold Cup at the Cheltenham Festival. 

Paul Nicholls' legendary chaser, Kauto Star won the Betfair Chase on four occasions between 2006 and 2011, while also winning the Gold Cup at Cheltenham twice in that space of time.

Colin Tizzard's star Cue Card became a fan's favourite thanks to his exploits at Haydock. Cue Card won the Betfair Chase on three occasions, while also winning the King George at Kempton and the Ryanair at Cheltenham.

Silviniaco Conti won the Betfair Chase in 2012 and '14, making Paul Nicholls the most successful trainer in the race on six victories.

Bristol De Mai became the third horse to win back-to-back Betfair Chases in 2017 and '18. Nigel Twiston-Davies' charge also recorded the most emphatic Grade One victory ever seen in Britain here in 2017, beating Cue Card by a margin of 57-lengths.

Bristol De Mai was denied in his attempt to become the horse to win th Betfair Chase three years in a row in 2019, as Colin Tizzard's Lostintranslation outstayed his rival down the long home-straight at Haydock to win by half-a-length. There was no stopping Bristol De Mai the following year, though, as Nigely Twiston-Davies' star defeated Clan Des Obeaux to win his fourth Betfair Chase.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

07 December 2021

12 December 2021

Load More