2 Showlhs N

2023 British Champions Day Tips and Betting Predictions

The final major festival during the flat racing season in England is British Champions Day. 

Ascot racecourse welcomes a capacity crowd through their gates during October to enjoy British Champions Day. Four Group One races will be staged during a fantastic afternoon of action, and the ITV Racing team are sure to be in attendance in 2020.

2023 British Champions Day Card

1:35pm Qipco British Champions Sprint Stakes (Group One) 6f
2:10pm Qipco British Champions Long Distance Cup (Group 2) 2m
2:45pm Qipco British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes (Group One) 1m3½f
3:20pm Queen Elizabeth II Stakes (Group 1) 1m
4:00pm Qipco Champion Stakes (Group 1) 1m2f
4:40pm Balmoral Handicap (Class 2) 1m

2023 British Champions Day Odds

We'll bring you the latest betting markets for British Champions Day when they're released.

2023 British Champions Day Tips

Our through the card tips for Champions Day will be published the week before the meeting.

British Champions Day History

British Champions Day was created in 2011. With financial backing from sponsors Qipco, Ascot racecard created a bumper card, featuring four fantastic Group One races.

The British Champions Series was created, and the finals of all five divisions take place on British Champions Day. To round off the card, organisers created the Balmoral Handicap, which is run over a one mile trip.

The opening race on the card is the Champions Sprint. This Group One was formerly known as the Diadem Stakes, and the race has been won by famous sprinters like Moorestyle and Slade Power.

Next up is the Long Distance Cup, which was promoted to Group Two status in 2014. Further Flight won this race for five years in a row when it was known as the Jockey Club Cup and staged at Newmarket.

Since being moved to Champions Day, star stayers like Order Of St George and Stradivarius have come out on top. In 2019, Stradivarius returned to Ascot to defend his crown, only to get pipped to the post by Kew Gardens.

When Champions Day was created, the Princess Royal Stakes was renamed the Champions Fillies And Mares Stakes. 

Ouija Board was crowned Champion Mare in 2005. She's since been followed into the winners' enclosure at Ascot by Simple Verse, Journey and Magical.

The Queen Elizabeth II Stakes is known commonly as the QEII, and is the penultimate Group One on British Champions Day.

Brigadier Gerard and Rose Bowl both won this race twice during the 1970s. The names of Dubai Millenium, Excelebration, Solow and Frankel stand out on the QEII roll of honour.

The feature race on British Champions Day is the Champion Stakes. This Group One was first staged at Ascot in 1877, and is run over a 1m 2f trip.

Greats like Tristan, Ormonde, Sceptre and Pretty Polly all won the Champion Stakes during it's early years. Gay Crusader scored during his Triple Crown-winning campaign in 1917.

As well as winning the QEII twice, Brigadier Gerard completed a double in the Champion Stakes in the early 70s. Triptych, Alborada, Twice Over and Cracksman also claimed back to back wins.

Frankel collected his second Champions Day prize when winning the Champions Stakes in 2012. He's been emulated by the likes of Farhh, Almanzor and top filly Magical, who won for the second time on British Champions Day in 2019.