2019 Ryanair Chase Preview, Predictions & Betting Tips

Date: Thursday March 14, 2019 
Track: Cheltenham 
Distance: 4,225m 
Status: Grade 1 
Prize Money: £275,000 
Age: 5YO+

Formerly known as the Festival Chase, the Ryanair Chase is a popular betting race and has generated plenty of interest since becoming a Grade 1 chase in 2008. 

Some of the more impressive thoroughbreds have won in recent history, including Cue Card and Un de Sceaux – two of the more popular chasers of this generation. 

It’s a great race and it will continue to carve out a legacy during the Cheltenham Festival.

Ryanair Chase Date & Time 2019

The Ryanair Chase is the third race run on Day 3 of the Cheltenham Festival. That falls on Thursday March 14, 2019 and the official starting time is 2:50pm. 

2:10 – Pertemps Final Hurdle 
2:50 – Ryanair Chase 
3:30 – Stayers Hurdle 
4:10 – Browns Advisory Plate 
4:50 – Mares Novices Hurdle 
5:30 – Kim Muir Chase Cup

Ryanair Chase 2019 Betting Tips

We will have 2019 Ryanair Chase tips when the field is released.

2019 Ryanair Chase odds

Always a popular betting market in the months and weeks leading up to the race, the Ryanair Chase is targeted by bettors. 

Bookmakers frame their markets competitively and offer value odds top to bottom. Altior is the raging-hot favourite in 2019 but there’s a host of good-value chances throughout. 

Below are the top 20 in the market. 

  • Altior – 2.00 
  • Min – 5.00 
  • Un de Sceaux – 6.00 
  • Waiting Patiently – 6.00 
  • Footpad – 7.00 
  • Kemboy – 7.00 
  • Frodon – 8.00 
  • Thistlecrack – 8.50 
  • Monalee – 9.00 
  • Fox Norton – 9.00 
  • Politologue – 9.00 
  • Might Bite – 9.00 
  • Balko Des Flos – 10.00 
  • Shattered Love – 11.00 
  • Charbel – 11.00 
  • Terrefort – 13.00 
  • Benie Des Dieux – 13.00 
  • Top Notch – 13.00 
  • Al Boum Photo – 13.00 
  • Saint Calvados – 15.00

2019 Ryanair Chase field

The field hasn’t been confirmed but we will post an updated 2019 Ryanair Chase field when the final field is released.

Ryanair Chase winners

The Ryanair Chase has only been a fixture of the Cheltenham Festival since 2005, but in that time, there have been many champion winners. 

Albertas Run scored consecutive wins in 2010 and 2011. The great Ruby Walsh scored wins in 2016/2017 for trainer Willie Mullins.

2018Balko des Flos
2017Un de Sceaux
2013Cue Card
2012Riverside Theatre
2011Albertas Run
2010Albertas Run
2009Imperial Commander
2008Our Vic

Ryanair Chase history

Having only started in 2005, there isn’t much history for the Ryanair Chase, but it’s quickly becoming a race that will be steeped in history in some years’ time. 

Amazingly, despite only being run on 14 occasions, there are five trainers with multiple wins in the Ryanair Chase and jockey Ruby Walsh has won four times. 

Walsh scored in 2005 with Thisthatandtother before repeating in 2007 with Taranis. It would be nine years before Walsh scored another win in the Ryanair Chase when Vautour won in 2016 and that was followed up with a win with Un des Sceaux in 2017. 

AP McCoy scored his last ever Cheltenham Festival win aboard Uxizandre in 2015 before his retirement.  

The trainers with two wins in the Ryanair Chase are Paul Nicholls, Jonjo O’Neill, Nicky Henderson, David Pipe and Willie Mullins. 

Only one horse, Albertas Run, has won the Ryanair Chase more than once.  

French runners have a good history in the race, winning with the likes of Uxizandre, Vautour, Un de Sceaux and Balko des Flos – which made it four consecutive wins for the French-born runners from 2015-2018. 

The race features 17 jumps for the field to navigate and it was one of several new races added to the card when a fourth day was added to the festival in 2005.  

Originally classed as a Grade 2, it was promoted to Grade 1 status in 2008 when Our Vic was victorious. 

The Daily Telegraph was the original sponsor of the Festival Trophy but when Ryanair came on board, the race subsequently became the Ryanair Chase. 

2018 Ryanair Chase replay

The 2018 Ryanair Chase was taken out by Balko des Flos for French trainer Henry de Bromhead and jockey Davy Russell. See below for the 2018 Ryanair Chase replay.