2020 Stayers Hurdle Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

Open to horses ages four years or older, the Stayers Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival isn’t one of the more popular betting races during the festival but it always garners attention from race goers. 

Formerly known as the World Hurdle when sponsored when Ladbrokes sponsored the 12-hurdle feature, it reverted back to the Stayers Hurdle in 2017. 

The Cheltenham Festival Day 4 hurdle has a rich history of producing quality winners and this year should be no different.

Stayers Hurdle Key Facts

DateThursday March 13, 2020
StatusGrade 1
Prize Money£275,000

Stayers Hurdle Date & Time 2020

The Stayers Hurdle is the fourth race run on Day 3 of the Cheltenham Festival, which immediately follows the Ryanair Chase. It is run on Thursday March 13, 2020 and the official starting time is 3:30pm. 

2:10 – Pertemps Final Hurdle 
3:30 – Stayers Hurdle 
4:10 – Browns Advisory Plate 
4:50 – Mares Novices Hurdle 
5:30 – Kim Muir Chase Cup 

Stayers Hurdle 2020 Betting Tips

We will have 2020 Stayers Hurdle tips available.

2020 Stayers Hurdle odds

We will have 2020 Stayers Hurdle odds when bookmakers release their markets.

Stayers Hurdle winners

The Stayers Hurdle has been around since 1912 and the list of champion winners is extensive. In more recent times, Big Buck’s has dominated the race when winning four consecutive races between 2009-2012. 

Thistlecrack was a popular winner for bettors when scoring at evens in 2016.

2019Paisley Park
2017Nichols Canyon
2015Cole Harden
2014More Of That
2012Big Buck's
2011Big Buck's
2010Big Buck's
2009Big Buck's
2008Inglis Drever
2007Inglis Drever
2006My Way de Solzen
2005Inglis Drever
2004Iris's Gift
2001no race
1995Dorans Pride
1993Shuil Ar Aghaidh
1992Nomadic Way
1991King's Curate
1990Trapper John

Stayers Hurdle history

With a long and rich history, the Stayers Hurdle is one of the time-honoured races during the Cheltenham Festival in March. 

First run in 1912 when taken out by Aftermath against only three rivals, the Stayers Hurdle has increased in popularity since and is now attracted numbers of around 12-20 every year. 

Big Buck’s became the most successful runner in the history of the Stayers Hurdle when winning it four straight times. It was considered the best hurdler in the world at that time and when he was retired in 2014, that opened up the competition. 

Inglis Drever was a three-time winner of the Stayers Hurdle in 2005, 2007 and 2008.  

The Stayers Hurdle has adopted many different names throughout the course of history. It has been called the World Hurdle, Stayers Selling Hurdle, Spa Hurdle and has now settled as the Stayers Hurdle under the sponsorship of Sun Bets. 

As he has with many of the Cheltenham Festival races, jockey Ruby Walsh dominated the Stayers Hurdle with five wins. His first came in with Big Buck’s in 2009 and he also rode 2017 champion Nichols Canyon to victory for owners Andrea and Graham Wylie, who also owned Inglis Drever. 

The history of betting on the Stayers Hurdle is complete with short-priced favourites and long shots. Big Buck’s scored at 7.00 in 2009 but was backed into an odds-on quote for each of his three remaining wins. 

Since 1988, Big Buck’s 1.85 winning price is the lowest odds paid out, with Anzum’s 41.00 odds in 1999 being the highest odds. 

2019 Stayers Hurdle replay

The 2019 Stayers Hurdle was taken out by Paisley Park, which was heavily-backed in the lead-up to the Stayers' Hurdle.

Paisley Park
Jockey Aidan Coleman celebrates as he rides Paisley Park to victory in the Sun Racing Stayers' Hurdle. (Getty Images)