Dewhurst Stakes 2021 Betting Tips & Expert Advice

Open to both two-year-old colts and fillies, the Dewhurst Stakes is scheduled to take place each year in October and offers a pursue of £500,000 in prize money, which attracts top connections from around the globe. 

The ante-post market for this big race usually opens a few weeks before, with some of the top two-year-olds priced up in case they are entered. 

2021 Dewhurst Stakes Odds

 No odds are currently available for the 2021 Dewhurst.

2021 Dewhurst Stakes Tips

Our preview of the 2021 Dewhurst will be published when the final field has been announced.

2020 Dewhurst Stakes Result

1stSt Mark's Basilica10/1
3rdThunder Moon11/4f

Dewhurst Stakes Day Card

1 The Dubai Nursery Handicap Stakes
2 The Godolphin Flying Start Zetland Stakes
3 The Dubai Autumn Stakes
4 The Darley Dewhurst Stakes
5 The Emirates Cesarewitch (Heritage Handicap)
6 The Dubai British EBF Boadicea Fillies' Stakes
7 The Darley Stakes

Dewhurst Stakes History

Founded by a gentleman called Thomas Gee in 1875, the Dewhurst Stakes was originally given the title of the Dewhurst Plate, in honour of Gee’s Dewhurst Stud at Wadhurst. 

Ran in the latter stages of the year at Newmarket racecourse, this event pits the top two-year-old colts and fillies against each other with a prize pool of £533,750 on the line.

It’s a race that has been held in high regard since day dot as well, with the first four winners of the Dewhurst going on to win one or more of the next year’s Classics. A feat the is still associated with winners of the race in the modern era. 

Formerly part of Newmarket’s Champions Day meeting, it was moved to Future Champions Day in 2011 and has remained there ever since. 

At one stage, the winner was automatically given an invitation to compete in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf but this was removed from the series in 2012. 

The Dewhurst has long been one of the most important juvenile races in England, offering huge clues towards the following season's 2000 Guineas.

John Porter's legendary colt, Ormonde was one of the first colts to achieve that feat, winning the Dewhurst in 1885 before following up in the first Classic of 1886.

Another legend of the sport, Nijinsky ended his two-year-old career with victory in the Dewhurst Stakes. Mill Reef scored the following year, with Grundy also winning in the 1970s.

Rock Of Gibraltar, Shamardal and Teofilo all won the Dewhurst Stakes and have gone on to decome top stallions.

Sir Percy won the 2005 Dewhurst and scored in the Epsom Derby the following season. Two years later, New Approach also achieved that fabled double.

Frankel, regarded as one of the greatest horses of all time, won the Dewhurst Stakes in 2010. The last horse to achieve the Dewhurst, 2000 Guineas double was Churchill, who won both races for Aidan O'Brien in 2016 and '17.

O'Brien saddled his sixth Dewhurst Stakes winner in 2017 when US Navy Flag claimed a surprise win.

Too Darn Hot handed John Gosden an overdue Dewhurst victory the following season. The 2019 Dewhurst Stakes went the way of Charlie Appleby and Godolphin, as star juvenile Pinatubo won in good style.

Aidan O'Brien celebrated a 1-2 in the 2020 Dewhurst, as St Mark's Basilica held off stablemate Wembley to win on the Rowley Mile.

Dewhurst Stakes Betting Guide

Those at the head of the market in the betting for the Dewhurst Stakes usually deliver for the punters. Eight of the last 12 winners of the race came from the top three in the betting while seven of those were the overall market leader. 

Too Darn Hot was an EVS favourite in 2018, Churchill was sent off as the 8/11 favourite in 2016 and Air Force Blue was priced at 4/6 favourite when clinching victory in 2015. 

Eight of the last 12 winners also won on their last run which is a good indicator to the class required to win this famous Group One. The National Stakes at the Curragh is a particularly good marker as four of the last 12 winners won that race on their last outing. 

Dewhurst Stakes Previous Winners

St Mark's Basilica2020
Too Darn Hot2018
US Navy Flag2017
Air Force Blue2015
War Command2013
Dawn Approach2012
Parish Hall2011
Intense Focus2008
New Approach2007
Sir Percy2005
Milk It Mick2003
Tout Seul2002
Rock Of Gibraltar2001

Dewhurst Stakes FAQ

When is the 2021 Dewhurst Stakes?

The 2021 Dewhurst Stakes is set to be held on October 9 from Newmarket in the UK.

Where is the Dewhurst Stakes held?

The Dewhurst Stakes is held every year at Newmarket racecourse, which is located in England.

Who won the 2020 Dewhurst Stakes?

Aidan O'Brien celebrated a 1-2 in the 2020 Dewhurst, as St Mark's Basilica held off stablemate Wembley to win on the Rowley Mile.

What is the prize money of the Dewhurst Stakes?

£533,750 is the total prize pool of the Dewhurst Stakes, with just over £300,000 going to the winner.

Where can I watch the Dewhurst?

The 2021 Dewhurst Stakes will be shown live on ITV Racing. Visit our website to find out how to watch the race via your mobile or tablet.