• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Dewhurst Stakes

When is the 2022 Dewhurst Stakes?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Dewhurst Stakes
  • This Group One will be run at Newmarket on Saturday 8th October 2022
native trail
William Buick riding Native Trail (C, blue) win The Darley Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket. (Getty)
Freetips staff 12 Oct 2021
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Dewhurst Stakes?

The 2022 Dewhurst Stakes will be run at Newmarket racecourse on Saturday 8th October 2022.

What is the Dewhurst Stakes?

The Dewhurst Stakes is a Group One race staged at Newmarket every October. This race is run over a trip of seven furlongs and open only to two-year-old colts. Horses who run in the Dewhurst Stakes often take part in the 2000 Guineas the following year.

Who won the Dewhurst Stakes?

Charlie Appleby's unbeaten colt, Native Trail lived up to his short price tag with an impressive triumph in the 2021 Dewhurst Stakes.

Which horses will run in the 2022 Dewhurst Stakes?

Only the very best two-year-old colts will run in the Fillies' Mile. Notable lead-up races include the Champagne Stakes at Doncaster, the Acomb Stakes at York and the National Stakes staged during Irish Champions Weekend.

Where is the Dewhurst Stakes run?

The Dewhurst Stakes is run on the Rowley Mile track at Newmarket racecourse, England.

Where can I watch the Dewhurst Stakes?

The Dewhurst Stakes will be shown on channels like ITV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Dewhurst Stakes Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Dewhurst Stakes live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Dewhurst Stakes Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Dewhurst Stakes History

Founded by a gentleman called Thomas Gee in 1875, the Dewhurst Stakes was originally given the title of the Dewhurst Plate, in honour of Gee’s Dewhurst Stud at Wadhurst. 

Ran in the latter stages of the year at Newmarket racecourse, this event pits the top two-year-old colts and fillies against each other with a prize pool of £533,750 on the line.

It’s a race that has been held in high regard since day dot as well, with the first four winners of the Dewhurst going on to win one or more of the next year’s Classics. A feat the is still associated with winners of the race in the modern era. 

Formerly part of Newmarket’s Champions Day meeting, it was moved to Future Champions Day in 2011 and has remained there ever since. 

At one stage, the winner was automatically given an invitation to compete in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf but this was removed from the series in 2012. 

The Dewhurst has long been one of the most important juvenile races in England, offering huge clues towards the following season's 2000 Guineas.

John Porter's legendary colt, Ormonde was one of the first colts to achieve that feat, winning the Dewhurst in 1885 before following up in the first Classic of 1886.

Another legend of the sport, Nijinsky ended his two-year-old career with victory in the Dewhurst Stakes. Mill Reef scored the following year, with Grundy also winning in the 1970s.

Rock Of Gibraltar, Shamardal and Teofilo all won the Dewhurst Stakes and have gone on to decome top stallions.

Sir Percy won the 2005 Dewhurst and scored in the Epsom Derby the following season. Two years later, New Approach also achieved that fabled double.

Frankel, regarded as one of the greatest horses of all time, won the Dewhurst Stakes in 2010. The last horse to achieve the Dewhurst, 2000 Guineas double was Churchill, who won both races for Aidan O'Brien in 2016 and '17.

O'Brien saddled his sixth Dewhurst Stakes winner in 2017 when US Navy Flag claimed a surprise win.

Too Darn Hot handed John Gosden an overdue Dewhurst victory the following season. The 2019 Dewhurst Stakes went the way of Charlie Appleby and Godolphin, as star juvenile Pinatubo won in good style.

Aidan O'Brien celebrated a 1-2 in the 2020 Dewhurst, as St Mark's Basilica held off stablemate Wembley to win on the Rowley Mile. In 2021, odds-on favourite Native Trail ran out a decisive winner of the Dewhurst.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

27 October 2021